Skip to Main Content
Picturing the Social Landscape by Caroline Knowles; Paul Sweetman
Publication Date: 2004-08-02
We live in a visual culture, and visual evidence is increasingly central to social research. In this collection an international range of experts explain how they have used visual methods in their own research, examine their advantages and limitations, and show how they have been used alongside other research techniques. Contributors explore the following ideas: * self and identity * visualizing domestic space * visualizing urban landscapes * visualizing social change. The collection showcases different methods in different contexts through the examination of a variety of topical issues. Methods covered include photo and video diaries, the use of images produced by respondents, the use of images as prompts in interviews and focus groups, documentary photography, photographic inventory and visual ethnography. The result is an exciting and original collection that will be indispensable for any student, academic or researcher interested in the use of visual methods.
Engaging Images for Research, Pedagogy, and Practice by Bridget Turner Kelly (Editor); Carrie A. Kortegast (Editor); Peter M. Magolda (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2017-12-29
This book introduces practitioners and researchers of student affairs to the use of images as a means to gaining new insights in researching and promoting student learning and development, and understanding the campus environment. Visual research methods can surface and represent ideas in compelling ways and augment the traditional written word and numerical data methodologies of social science research. The purpose of this book is to provide informative, rich examples of the use of visuals to understand and promote college student development research, pedagogy, and practice. With the increased accessibility of cameras, the ability to engage in image production has become widely available. Individual--including college students, faculty, and administrators--narrate the social world in new ways using visuals. While on the one hand students are using images to mobilize around social issues on campus, on the other, institutionally produced visual artifacts send messages about institutional culture and values. In promoting visual literacy, this book offers new opportunities for student development administrators and faculty to utilize the visual sensory modality and image-based artifacts to promote student success and belonging which are critical outcomes of higher education. The book is divided into three sections: research, pedagogy, and practice. The first makes the case for adding visual methods to the researcher's toolbox, describing past uses and outlining a theoretical approach to visual methods and methodologies in higher education research. The pedagogical section demonstrates different and creative ways for educators to think about how subjects--such as social justice--might be taught and how educators can draw upon new, changing modalities in their existing pedagogies and frameworks; and it illustrates how visual-based pedagogies can prompt students to new understandings about the content of their course of study. The concluding section describes how student development professionals can also utilize visual methods to provide students with out-of-classroom learning opportunities and as a means to stimulate student reflection and identity development. It also explores how visual methods can serve a way for practitioners to reflect on their professional practice and use of theory in their work. Intended for higher education educators, researchers, and practitioners who teach, research, and promote college student development and learning, this book could also be used in student affairs and higher education courses and professional development workshops.
The Visual Display of Quantitative Information by Edward R. Tufte
Call Number: QA276.3.T83
Publication Date: 2001-04-20
This book deals with the theory and practice in the design of data graphics and makes the point that the most effective way to describe, explore, and summarize a set of numbers is to look at pictures of those numbers, through the use of statistical graphics, charts, and tables. It includes 250 illustrations of the best (and a few of the worst) statistical graphics, with detailed analysis of how to display data for precise, effective, quick analysis. Also offered is information on the design of the high-resolution displays, small multiples, editing and improving graphics, and the data-ink ratio. Time-series, relational graphics, data maps, multivariate designs, as well as detection of graphical deception: design variation vs. data variation, and sources of deception are discussed. Information on aesthetics and data graphical displays is included. The 2nd edition provides high-resolution color reproductions of the many graphics of William Playfair (1750-1800), adds color to other images where appropriate, and includes all the changes and corrections during the 17 printings of the 1st edition
Visual Research Methods in the Social Sciences by Stephen Spencer
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
Visual Research Methods is a guide for students, researchers and teachers in the social sciences who wish to explore and actively use a visual dimension in their research. This book offers an integrated approach to doing visual research, showing the potential for building convincing case studies using a mix of visual forms including: archive images, media, maps, objects, buildings, and video interviews. Examples of the visual construction of 'place', social identity and trends of analysis are given in the first section of the book, whilst the essays in the second section highlight the astonishing creativity and innovation of four visual researchers. Each detailed example serves as a touchstone of quality and analysis in research, with themes ranging from the ethnography of a Venezuelan cult goddess to the forensic photography of the skeleton of a fourteenth-century nobleman. They give a keen sense of the motives, philosophies and benefits of using visual research methods. This volume will be of practical interest to those embarking on visual research as well as more experienced researchers. Key concerns include the power of images and their changing significance in a world of cross - mediation, techniques of analysis and ethical issues, and how to unlock the potential of visual data for research.
Visual Communication by David Machin (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
The primary goal of the volume on "Visual Communication" is to provide a collection of high quality, accessible papers that offer an overview of the different academic approaches to Visual Communication, the different theoretical perspectives on which they are based, the methods of analysis used and the different media and genre that have come under analysis. There is no such existing volume that draws together this range of closely related material generally found in much less related areas of research, including semiotics, art history, design, and new media theory. The volume has a total of 34 individual chapters that are organized into two sections: theories and methods, and areas of visual analysis. The chapters are all written by quality theorists and researchers, with a view that the research should be accessible to non-specialists in their own field while at the same time maintaining a high quality of work. The volume contains an introduction, which plots and locates the different approaches contained in it within broader developments and history of approaches to visual communication across different disciplines as each has attempted to define its terrain sometimes through unique concepts and methods sometimes through those borrowed and modified from others.
Ethics and Integrity in Visual Research Methods by Savannah Dodd (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-06-05
Ethics and Integrity in Visual Research Methodsaims to unpack the multiple considerations for ethics and integrity that accompany research methods involving visual data generation and analysis. This volume focuses on the media of photography and film. Contributing authors cover a variety of topics, including: consent and dignity when working with vulnerable and marginalized populations; the limitations of participatory methods within a context of inequity and postcolonialism; the challenges of anonymising visual data; and the risks of sharing visual data online. The authors share their experiences of working with visual methods across a range of contexts, making recommendations for best practice. This volume is intended to be practical, and the key messages aim to be concrete and applicable for anyone embarking on visual methods research.
Visual Interventions by Sarah Pink (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
Visual anthropology has proved to offer fruitful methods of research and representation to applied projects of social intervention. Through a series of case studies based on applied visual anthropological work in a range of contexts (health and medicine, tourism and heritage, social development, conflict and disaster relief, community filmmaking and empowerment, and industry) this volume examines both the range contexts in which applied visual anthropology is engaged, and the methodological and theoretical issues it raises.
Visual research methods: an introduction for library and information studies by Shailoo Bedi (Editor); Jenaya Webb (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020
Visual research methods (VRM) comprise a collection of methods that incorporate visual elements such as maps, drawings, photographs, videos, as well as three-dimensional objects into the research process. In addition, VRM including photo-elicitation, photovoice, draw-and-write techniques, and cognitive mapping are being leveraged to great effect to explore information experiences to investigate some of the central questions in the field; expand theoretical discussions in LIS; and improve library services and spaces. Visual Research Methods: An Introduction for Library and Information Studies is the first book to focus on visual methods in LIS, providing a comprehensive primer for students, educators, researchers and practitioners in the field. Contributed chapters in the book showcase examples of VRM in action and offer the insights, inspirations, and experiences of researchers and practitioners working with visual methods. Coverage includes: - an introduction to visual research methods including a discussion of terminology - an overview of the literature on VRM in libraries - methodological framing including a discussion of theory, epistemology, - practical and ethical considerations for researchers embarking on VRM projects - chapters showcasing VRM in action including drawing techniques, photographic techniques, and mixed methods - six contributed chapters each showcasing the results of visual research methods, discussions of the techniques, and reflections on VRM for research in information studies. This book will provide a strong methodological context for the adoption of visual research methods in LIS and feature examples of VRM ‘in action.'It will prove to be a must-have reference for researchers, practitioners, instructors, and students who want to engage with visual research methods and to expand their methodological toolkit.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License | Details of our policy