Skip to Main Content
Free online resources
Free printable blank music sheet.
Golden Pages for Musicologist
The Golden Pages provide announcements for forthcoming conferences in musicology and related disciplines, an archive of dissertation abstracts, links to music departments worldwide, and other links of interest to musicologists.
An archive of early sound recorders.
The Spirituals Database
Offers searchable access to recorded track information for over 5,300 Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists.
A guide to more than 8,000 print and Internet resources from Brigham Young University.
Music Printing History
A guide to the history of music printing by Rosendo Reyna, a music theory and performance instructor who also works as an independent music engraver.
Online music writing application that lets you create, view, print and hear music notation in your web browser.
at the Sibelius Academy in Finland.
Check also the Find Audio Resources tab of the Communication guide.
Art Song Central
Free sheet music for singers and voice teachers.
Black Music History Library
A living register of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 17th century to present day
Choral Public Digital Library
Wiki hosting free scores of choral and vocal works.
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
by University of Oxford, Faculty of Music.
A website and crowdsourced database of information about audio recordings, including commercial releases, promotional releases, and bootleg or off-label releases. It can be used also to create discographies for research papers.
dublab is a Los Angeles-based, community-supported internet radio station and creative collective dedicated to the growth of positive music, arts, and culture
Early Music Online
This collection holds digitised images of some of the world's oldest surviving volumes of printed music, digitized by Royal Holloway, University of London.
A user-based archive focused on original folk and traditional music of the different countries, nations and ethnic groups of the world. It collects indigenous music, aboriginal music, ethnic music, regional music, rural music, root music, traditional ritual music, arranged folk music, recreated folk music.
A database of compact disc track listings, where all the content is under the GNU General Public License.
John Cage | A Living Archive
Online record of John Cage's work and its evolving impact on music and performance by the New York Public Library.
The Living Composer
The Living Composers Project is a nonprofit database, charting the lives and works of composers in the here and now, that has been under continuous development since 2000.
A project that aims to create an open data music database that is similar to the freedb project.
Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digitized Version
operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting.
Sibley Music Library
Music repository hosted by the Eastman School of Music at the University of Rochester.
Virtual Library of Musicology
hosted by Bavarian State Library.
Werner Icking Music Archive
The definitive archive of software related to MusiXTeX, a music typesetting system based on TeX. It also merged with IMSLP.
Popular Music Resources
A huge site including biographies and discographies of musicians in all genres.
It tabulates the relative weekly popularity of songs and albums in the United States and elsewhere.
Every Noise at Once
An ongoing attempt at an algorithmically-generated, readability-adjusted scatter-plot of the musical genre-space, based on data tracked from users of music streaming services.
The Folk Den
A folk music website founded in 1995 by Roger McGuinn, former front man of The Byrds. Hosted at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's ibiblio, the site is intended to preserve and promote folk music and offers a new folk song on a monthly basis.
Folk Music Index
An index to recorded and print resources.
Folk Tune Finder
Search for folk tunes by title, melody (using an onscreen "piano" keyboard), or contour. Or browse the 200,000+ entries.
A crowd-sourced website that breaks down song lyrics with line-by-line annotations, added and edited by anyone in the world (viewer discretion is advised).
Hip Hop Archive
A portal for hip hop music and culture.
A multilingual publication focusing on popular music landscapes.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License | Details of our policy