Library Guides: Communications: Comics Research

Selected Books

Of Comics and Men : a Cultural History of American Comic Books by Jean-Paul Gabilliet, Bart Beaty (Translator), Nick Nguyen (Translator)
Call Number: PN6725 .G3313 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Reading comics : language, culture, and the concept of the superhero in comic books by Mila Bongco
Call Number: PN6714 .B66
Publication Date: 2000
This book contains graphic language : comics as literature by Rocco Versaci
Call Number: PN6714 .V47
Publication Date: 2007
Comics versus art by Bart Beaty
Call Number: PN6710 .B43 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Panel to the screen : style, American film, and comic books during the blockbuster era by Drew Morton
Call Number: PN1997.85 .M67 2016
Publication Date: 2017
Comics & Media by Hillary L. Chute, Patrick Jagoda
Call Number: PN6714 .C646
Publication Date: 2014
Dreamland Japan : writings on modern manga by Frederik L. Schodt
Call Number: PN6790.J3 S285
Publication Date: 1996
Graphic storytelling and visual narrative : principles and practices from the legendary cartoonist by Will Eisner
Call Number: PN6710 .E57
Publication Date: 2008
Making comics : storytelling secrets of comics, manga and graphic novels by Scott McCloud
Call Number: PN6710 .M332
Publication Date: 2006
Manga : sixty years of Japanese comics by Paul Gravett
Call Number: PN6790.J3 G73
Publication Date: 2004
The visual language of comics : introduction to the structure and cognition of sequential images by Neil Cohn
Call Number: P99.4.P78 C64
Publication Date: 2013

Digital Archives and Databases

Comic Book Plus
A digital archive providing free access to Golden and Silver Age comics.
Digital Comics Museum
A digital archive providing free access to public domain Golden Age Comics
Grand Comics Database
A nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building an open database covering all printed comics throughout the world.

Textbooks

The power of comics : history, form and culture by Randy Duncan, Matthew J. Smith, Paul Levitz, Mark Waid
Call Number: PN6710 .D86 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Understanding comics : the invisible art by Scott McCloud
Call Number: PN6710 .M32
Publication Date: 1994
The comic book history of comics by Fred Van Lente, Ryan Dunlavey
Call Number: PN6710 .V36 2012
Publication Date: 2012

Comics in the Library

Comic Books and Graphic Novels for the Final Paper
A list of comic books and graphic novels available in the Frohring Library that can be used for the class' final paper.
Further readings for CMS 318
Comics in the Library
A list of comic books, graphic novels and collections available in the Frohring Library.

Free Online Journals

Comics Grid
An open access, open peer review academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship.
ImageTexT
A peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of comics and related media.
The Comics Journal
A magazine of news and criticism pertaining to comic books, comic strips and graphic novels.
Journal of Graphic Novels and Comics
An open access journal covering all aspects of the graphic novel, comic strip and comic book focusing primarily, but not exclusively, on the twentieth and the twenty-first centuries.
inkt|art
A comics journal, focused on the work of women artists.

Online Bibliographies

ComicsResearch
Comics Scholarship Annotated Bibliographies
Comics Research Bibliography
An international bibliography of comic books, comic strips, animation, caricature, cartoons, bandes dessinees, and related topics.
Bonn Online Bibliography of Comics Research
An international bibliographic database for scholarly literature about comics, graphic novels, manga and related fields.

Blogs and Online Resources

Comic Book Resources
A website dedicated to the coverage of comic book-related news and discussion.
Graphic Novel Reporter
A site providing news, reviews, advocacy, and commentary on comic books.
The Comics Cube
A website tackling all sorts of different topics for all sorts of different forms of sequential art.
Comics Worth Reading
Opinions, news and reviews of graphic novels, mangas and comic books.
The Guardian Comics Blog
Comics news from The Guardian Books Blog.
NYPL Comics Blog
Comics Blog from the New York Public Library.
Graphic Novel Resources
A site for links and information about graphic novels.

Other Resources

Terms for Comics Studies
Illustrations explaining fundamental terms in comics studies.
Stuart McMillen's "Metaphors"
A comic about metaphors.
Drawing Words and Writing Pictures
Jessica Abel and Matt Madden on reading, teaching and making comics.
She Changed Comics
A history of women comic artists.
List of terms for Comics Studies
Andrei Molotiu’s essential list of terms for comics studies (from Comics Forum).
Women in Refrigerators
A website listing analyzing and discussing the use and misuse of the infamous plot device.
The Hawkeye Initiative
An online commentary on the depiction and treatment of female characters and superheroes in comic books.
The Beast: Making a Living on a Dying Planet
A graphic novel on oil, environment, and media literacy.
Women Who Draw
Women Who Draw is an open directory of female (women, trans and gender non-conforming) professional illustrators, artists and cartoonists.