Library Guides: DJRN 221 Introduction to News Reporting and Writing: Getting started

Welcome

This guide is meant to support research for DJRN 221 students and for journalism students alike.

Here you can find resources to explore and search tips.

Style Manuals

This is a selection of books that you can find in the Reference collection and that can help you focusing your topic:

Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law by Edited by Darrell Christian, Sally Jacobsen, and David Minthorn
Call Number: REF PN4783.A83
Publication Date: 2013
Guide to Business Style and Usage by Edited by Paul R. Martin
Call Number: REF PN4783.W26
Publication Date: 2002
The Economist Style Guide
Call Number: REF PE1421 .S75
Publication Date: 2010

Online Reference Sources

Here you can find a list of pertinent on-line reference resources.These resources can be used to find a general overview on specific topics, or background information on a broad topic.

Fact-checking

Reference sources are usually used by editors to check information from provided facts (spelling errors, dates, style and grammar, data and statistics).

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
gives access to over 500 general reference sources including subject specific books.

Recommended Websites

8 Must-Reads Detail How to Verify Information in Real-Time, from Social Media, Users
Article by Craig Silverman, published on Poynter Online (Apr 27) about finding out how newspaper reporters verify information or leads they get from social media.
Data Driven Journalism
Collection of learning resources, including relevant events, tools, tutorials, interviews and case studies for everyone interested in data driven journalism.
Data Journalism Handbook
The Data Journalism Handbook is a free, open source reference book for anyone interested in the emerging field of data journalism.
The Economist Style Guide
Online version of the Economist Style Guide.
European Journalism Centre
The European Journalism Centre (EJC) is an independent, international, non-profit institute dedicated to the highest standards in journalism, primarily through the further training of journalists and media professionals.
Handbook of Journalism
Style handbook for journalists by Reuters
How to Use Social Media in Newsgathering
Guide on using social media to research stories.
Journalism Resources
Compiled and edited by Karla Tonella, University of Iowa, it includes several Internet resources on academic and professional journalism.
Journalist's Toolbox
This free site from the Society of Professional Journalists contains thousands of links helpful for reporters, editors, educators or anyone else doing research.
Journawiki
Journa Wiki aims to be a complete online reference for all aspects of journalism.
Knight Digital Media Center
Partnering the Knight Foundation, the USC Annenberg School, and University of California, Berkeley, the site provides a gateway to many superior journalistic resources, including media sites focusing on underreported issues like children/families, science/medicine, and public health. The site's simple, intuitive navigation facilitates discovery of copious media content. There are excellent blogs on best practices in online journalism; tutorials to enhance digital reporting; and special treatment focusing on covering science, politics, and community beats.
Online Journalism 'How-To' Guides
How-To guides on reporting and writing on the Internet.
Poynter Online
Resource center for journalists.
Project Syndicate: The World’s Opinion Page
Project Syndicate produces and delivers original, high-quality commentaries to media outlets around the world.
This Prague-based organization (with support from the Gates Foundation and European Climate Foundation) provides full-text access to all the current content. Free registration is required to gain unlimited access to the archive of older material as well as commenting rights.
Social Media News and Web Tips – Mashable – The Social Media ...
Mashable is a leading online source for information and news on social media and related technology