Try to make the most out of the subject headings in the library catalogs. Some examples of official subject headings are listed below:
Subject headings can be subdivided in one or more elements. The first element is the main heading and tells you what the book is about; the subsequent elements are called subdivisions, they follow the main heading, and add specificity to the main topic.
Some subdivisions can be very helpful for improving your research. Here are some examples:
-- Political aspects is used when you want to identify the political dimension of a non-political topic.
ex.: Media -- Political aspects
-- Social aspects is used to describe the effect an item or a discipline and society on each other.
ex.: Mass media -- Social aspects
-- Psychological aspects is used to give a psychological perspective to the main search topic.
ex.: Popular culture -- Psychological aspects
Most of the books on communications and media studies can be found on the shelves in these sections:
HM1176-1281: Social influence
HM1206: Social aspects of mass media
HM1221: Social psychology of public relations
HN1-995: Social history of the media
P87-96: Communication and mass media
PN1993-1999: Cinema
PN4699-5650: Journalism
PN4756: Journalistic ethics
Humanities e-books is a collection of over 5000 high quality full-text books in the humanities.
Excerpts of the books in the collection can be downloaded as PDF files.
Bloomsbury Collections delivers access to eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences.
The EBSCOhost interface provides access to a range of databases, e-journals and e- books.
Ebook Central is a collection of more than 85,000 e-books from academic publishers in several areas, including Area Studies, Business and Economics, IT, History and Political Science, Humanities, Language, Literature and Linguistics, Law, International relations and Public Policy, Psychology, Religion, Philosophy and the Classics.
E-books can be read online or downloaded for offline reading (checkout: 14 days).
Small and growing collection of online handbooks on various topics, including sports management, security studies, environment politics, discrimination, and diversity studies.
A growing collection of high-quality e-books in the humanities, social and behavioral sciences.
The books are DRM free and can be downloaded in PDF format.
For materials that are not available via the Frohring Library, you can submit an interlibrary loan request and ask for a copy of the item to be sent here.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License | Details of our policy