Library Guides: Political Science & International Affairs: Getting Started

Books to Get You Started

The following is a list of books that can provide background information. Some books are available in the Reference Collection located in the Aurelian Wing, other books can be checked out for two weeks at the Welcome Desk, and the electronic resources are available 24/7.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia includes peer-reviewed, long-form reference articles on a wide range of topics such as political economy, world politics, political history, governance, political institutions, political violence, and political philosophy written by leading scholars in the discipline.

Ten Political Ideas That Have Shaped the Modern World by Sanford A. Lakoff
Call Number: JA83 .L28
Publication Date: 2011
The Oxford Handbook of the Welfare State by Edited by Francis G. Castles, Stephan Leibfried, Jane Lewis, Herbert Obinger, Christopher Pierson
Call Number: JC479 .O94
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by Edited by David P. Forsythe
Call Number: REF JC571 .E673
Publication Date: 2009
Political Parties and Democracy by Edited by Kay Lawson
Call Number: REF JF2051 .P567
Publication Date: 2010
The SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics by Edited by Todd Landman and Neil Robinson
Call Number: JF51 .S24
Publication Date: 2011
Governing America by Paul J. Quirk and William Cunion
Call Number: JK468.P64 Q55
Publication Date: 2011
The International Studies Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2017
The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics by Joel Krieger; Margaret E. Crahan (Editor); Craig N. Murphy (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199738595
Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Companion to International Relations by Joel Krieger (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by Nigel Young (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World by Joel Krieger (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195117394
Publication Date: 2001

News and Magazines

Here are some of the major magazines and newspapers available both in print and online:

For more information, including how to activate your free subscription to The New York Times, visit our Virtual Newsstand!

Topic Guides

European Union
by Livia Piotto Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 57 views this year
United Nations
by Livia Piotto Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 8 views this year

Biblioteca del Centro di Studi Americani

	Via Michelangelo Caetani, 32 – 00186 Rome
	CSA
	Mon-Thu: 9 AM - 5:30 PM Fri: 9 AM - 2 PM
	Access upon registration (free of charge for JCU Students). Photo ID and JCU ID needed. Register Online Here.
	Library Catalog
	All the material found in this library refers to the culture and civilization of the United States. It refers especially to History, Literature, Politics, Law and Foreign Relations. The collection includes rare and early printed books, periodicals and academic journals, as well as a growing number of electronic resources.