Library Guides: United Nations: Getting Started

United Nations Research Guide

This guide is designed to help finding information about and by the United Nations and its principal organs.

The collection of sources includes materials that can be accessed in the library, via the electronic databases and via the Internet.

UN website
The main access point for information, documents, and resources about the United nations

The following books are kept in the reference section and periodically updated:

United Nations System by Joseph Preston Baratta
Call Number: REF JX1977 .B284
Publication Date: 1995
The Oxford Handbook on the United Nations by Edited by Thomas G. Weiss and Sam Daws
Call Number: REF JZ4970 .O93
Publication Date: 2009
Historical Dictionary of the United Nations by Jacques Fomerand
Call Number: REF JZ4984.5 .B395
Publication Date: 2007
The UN Secretary-General and Secretariat by Leon Gordenker
Call Number: REF JZ5008 .G67
Publication Date: 2010-03-10
Great Debates at the United Nations by Robert F. Gorman
Call Number: REF KZ4968.G67
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of the United Nations by Edited by Edmund Jan Osmanczyk et al.
Call Number: REF KZ4968.O84
Publication Date: 2002
Basic Facts about the United Nations by United Nations Department of Public Information
Publication Date: 2017
This comprehensive handbook designed for the general public explains the structure of the United Nations, how the Organization works, the main issues it addresses and its importance for people everywhere.
Click on Read to access the full text online. The PDF version requires a subscription.
United Nations Today by United Nations
Call Number: REF JZ4970 .U658
Publication Date: 2008