Skip to Main Content
PL 201 American Government
The Oxford Commentaries on the State Constitutions of the United States
Missing commentaries in the collection :
Distric of Columbia
su:[state] politics and government
This string can be used in JCU Discovery to find books about the politics of individual States. You just need to replace [state] with the name of your chosen State.
Individual States websites
Look for the "government" section of the official website of the State of your choice.
Search State + terms like “government”, “politics”, “rights”, “corruption”, “democracy”, “civil rights”, “gerrymander”, “voting”
Finding News and Researching Topics
This List includes content providers who are active and current CIAO
Think Tanks Search
Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.
Law and the Library
Law and the Library is a series of debates and discussions on a wide variety of contemporary legal issues. It is available as audio podcasts on iTunes U.
The Bill of Rights
The website gives access to a digitized edition of the Bill of Rights (first ten amendments to the U.S. Constitution) and a series of other historical documents of the U.S. government.
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
FindLaw's searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Supreme Court Decisions: U.S. Reports 150-, 1893-). Browseable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and searchable by citation, case title and full text. Also includes an archive of Opinion Summaries from September 2000 to the Present.
The Founders' Constitution
A comprehensive anthology of original historical documents relating to the legal and historical context of the U.S. Constitution and Bill of Rights. It is a joint venture of the University of Chicago and the Liberty Fund.
Supreme Court of the United States
The official website of the United States Supreme Court provides PDF copies of U.S. Reports from vol. 502 (October 1991 term) to the present, as well as other information about the Supreme Court and Supreme Court justices.
Legislative information portal sponsored by the Library of Congress.
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (popularly known as the Constitution Annotated) contains legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution, based primarily on Supreme Court case law.
U.S. Electoral College
The U.S. Electoral College site, maintained by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) provides information for students, teachers, and the general public on how the U.S. electoral college and voting system works, including voting resources, documents for state officials, teaching resources, a voting calculator, and FAQs.
United States Courts
This site provides information on the structure, function, and operations of the federal court system.
Open States gathers data from the official legislative sites of the 50 states, Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico; provides hyperlinked source information; and updates data nightly. It offers comparative searches nationwide by subject or by legislator, a browse feature by individual state, and a box for searching hometown addresses.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The site's particular appeal lies in its Data Analysis Tool. This tool allows the researcher to create customized tables comparing (but not limited to) historical arrests by age, sex, offense; US and local crime trends; recidivism by demographic, criminal history, and/or sentence attributes; and victimization characteristics between violent and property crime by victim, household, and/or incident characteristics.
Book of the States
Comparisons for states and territories with tables, charts and figures illustrating how state government operates. It also includes more than 30 articles from state leaders, innovative thinkers, noted scholars and CSG’s in-house policy experts that analyze and report on the transformations taking place in state government.
The Council of State Governments
The Council of State Governments is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy.
U.S. Documents in the News
The U.S. Documents in the News guide is a subset of the larger Government information Guide hosted by the Penn State University Libraries. The Documents in the
News guide “aims to highlight the use of government information in the news and media”. Documents in the News is also a place to “foster discovery and access to government information”. Weekly curation of articles is done by several different curators that comb a variety of newspaper databases.
US Government Documents
Government documents can be requested via e-mail to the Information Resource Center of the US Embassy in Rome.
Ask JCU Librarians for help.
You can also access U.S. government documents through these official websites:
The U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public.
Federal Depository Library Program
The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) provides free, ready, and permanent public access to Federal Government information.
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License | Details of our policy