Legal Studies: Websites

The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government and links to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

The site's mission is to provide assistance, training, research, and other resources for individuals and organizations involved in online and citizen media. It provides a Legal Threats Database which contains lawsuits, cease and desist letters, subpoenas, and other legal threats, as well as a Citizen Media Legal Guide and other resources.

This free website allows users to compare the wording and provisions of the constitutions of the world's countries.

Constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents of nations around the world.

Series of research guides prepared by the Georgetown University Law Library on various aspects of legal research.

Lexis Web provides powerful navigation tools to help you search for legal resources on the Web and on LexisNexis.

Glossary of basic legal terms prepared by Fred R. Shapiro of Yale Law School.

Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School.

The WLII is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility developed collaboratively by several Legal Information Institutes and other organizations from around the world.

Research guides on a variety of topics in international law from the American Society of International Law.

A multimedia resource, providing international law training and research materials.

Free database that provides links to primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet.

Links to guides on how to find and use international legal information online. The links are selected by Library of Congress Law Library.

Provides the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea and related agreements and other pertinent United Nations materials.

The web site provides full text of treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party.

This site provides links to relevant UN bodies, international courts and tribunals, and legal resources and training.

This website includes the United Nations Treaty series, Certified True Copies (CTC) of treaties deposited with the United Nations, status of treaties,and other relevant information.

EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union legal sources. The content of the database can also be searched on Lexis-Nexis.

Collection of web resources for world legal materials, country by country, including constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material. The website is created by the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University.

Created by the Cornell Law Library, it has the most links to law resources on the web.

European Parliament's database for monitoring the EU decision-making process.

Selection of law related websites divided by country. Some of the resources might be in the original language of the country selected. The resources are collected and maintained by the Library of Congress Law Library.