Library Guides: Political Science & International Affairs: PL 330 American Foreign Policy

Finding Journal Articles and Papers

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

CIAO is an online resource that provides access to documents and articles on international politics. It can search among publications from publishing institutions, international think tanks and scholarly journals.
It covers a very wide range of subjects related to International Politics, such as:
- Security
- Economics
- Development
- Foreign Policy
- International Relations
- Diplomacy
- Governance
- Defense Policy
- European Union
Political Science Database

Political Science Database gives access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations peer-reviewed journals, providing full text of many core titles. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news, and other sources.
Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a scholarly and multi-disciplinary database from EBSCO.
Contains full texts and PDF contents with searchable references.
Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni provides a comprehensive spectrum of over 11,000 full text sources, between law, business, and news.
News sources provided by Nexis Uni include:
- national and regional newspapers
- international news
- news transcripts
- newswires and press releases
Legal material includes:
- U.S. Federal and state case law
- codes
- regulations
- legal news
- law reviews
Business content includes:
- international legal information
- business news journals
- company financial information
- industry and market news.

Other Library Resources

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Call Number: REF E183.7 .E52

ISBN: 9780684806570

Publication Date: 2002

Although a bit outdated, this collection of essays
covering concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control. It is a good resource for a historical overview of American foreign policy.

LC Subject Headings

In addition to keyword searching, you may also search by subject in JCU Discovery. If you only want to search for subjects, you have to type su: followed by the subject keywords you would like to include in your query.

Selected subject headings related to this course are listed below:

Developing Countries-Foreign Relations-United States
Miliary Assistance, American-Egypt
United States-Foreign Relations
United States-Foreign Relations-[country]
[country]-Foreign Relations-United States

U.S. Government Sites

Foreign Relations of the United States - 1945-1988
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.
Foreign Relations of the United States - 1861-1960
Searchable full-text of the official record
Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports
The Congressional Research Service, a component of the Library of Congress, conducts research and analysis for Congress on a broad range of national policy issues.
U.S. Department of State
GPO
The U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Created by the U.S. Department of State, the website covers all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Each report contains info on bilateral relations with the U.S., travel, and business. There are also additional useful links, including a link to the CIA World Factbook entry for each country. These reports are updated periodically.

Other Useful Resources

Council on Foreign Relations
The Council on Foreign Relations was founded in 1921. It is an independent US based body which aims to provide insights into international affairs and develop new ideas for American foreign policy, particularly with regard to national security and foreign economic policy. Its website provides information on the role and current activities of the organization. It includes the full-text of its recent annual report and a large number of its papers, event transcripts and other publications.
Foreign Affairs
Companion website of 'Foreign Affairs', the leading journal in the field. It includes summaries of the article published on the journal (available through the Library resources, you can access it from the Find journals section), but also featured articles.