Skip to main content

Moodle Quickstart Guide for Faculty

Importing Course Materials from Past Courses

Course activities and resources may be imported from any other course that the teacher has editing permissions in. This allows teachers to re-use instead of re-create one or more activities or resources.

Imports of files between courses do not include most user data, or include grades. If you'd like to move a complete copy of user data as well, or make a single archive file of an entire course for your own records or to take elsewhere, see Creating a Course Backup File and Restoring a Course Backup to an Empty Course. 

To reuse course materials from semester to semester in frequently taught courses, importing is usually the better choice. If you need help with the course import please contact moodlesupport@johncabot.edu.

 

How to copy content from one course to another
  • Start by going to the Actions menu gear icon and select Import.

Actions menu

  • Select the course you wish to import from and click Continue. If you don't find it in the first list, use the search box to locate the course.

  • You will be presented with the Import settings page. Use the check boxes for import activities, blocks and or filters as types of items which will show on the next screen.

import settings

 

  • Select the elements you want to include in the import in the Schema settings step and click Next.
  • Review and click Perform import or click the cancel or previous buttons. The confirmation page will place green check marks and red marks next to the backup settings and include item list for you to review.
  • You should see the "Import complete. Click continue to return to the course." message, or an error message indicating that the import process did not take place.
  • In the Import settings page, you can also select Jump to final step to go straight to the import, if you already know that you want to copy all course contents.

TIP: Using the Jump to final step option will create a duplicate of the Announcements forum which is created by default when a new course is created. To avoid having a duplicate, you can deselect the old Announcements forum in the Schema settings, or you can delete the duplicate once the course materials have been copied.

 

You can use the same process even if you only need to duplicate a small section of a course (i.e. a topic section, few activities, and so on.)

 

Need More Help?

For 24/7 help on using Moodle features:

moodle docs

 

For help Monday-Friday 8am-8pm: