Skip to main content

Moodle Quickstart Guide for Faculty

Adding and Removing Students

Manually Adding Users

If the enrollment key is set for the course, most of the students will enrol themselves. In some case, it might be helpful to manually add students or other participants to the course (i.e. non-editing teachers).

  • Go to your course homepage in Moodle. 
  • Click on Participants in the left column.  
  • On the right-hand side, click on the Enroll Users button.
  • Use the Assign role drop-down menu to select the role: leave "student" for regularly enrolled students, select "non-editing teacher" if you want to add a colleague to your course without editing privileges.
  • Use the Select users search box to find and select the name of the student you wish to enrol. 
  • Click Enrol selected users when you are done.

Manually Removing Users

If you need to remove a user from your participants' list (i.e. a student dropped the course), you can manually do it:

  • Go to your course homepage in Moodle. 
  • Click on Participants in the left column. 
  • Search for the participant you wish to remove and click on the trash can icon trash can icon 
  • Click on Unenrol.

 

If you need to remove multiple users, you can select them by ticking the checkbox on the left side and select Delete selected user enrolments from With selected users drop-down menu.

 

unenroll users

 

Need More Help?

For 24/7 help on using Moodle features:

moodle docs

 

For help Monday-Friday 8am-8pm: