Libraries in Rome: Political Science

The library collections cover several disciplines.

• Biblioteca Marcantonio Colonna: law, administration, economics, political science and international affairs;
• Biblioteca Giorgio Petrocchi: humanities, communication and management;
• Biblioteca Luigia Tincani: education, psychology and social care.

The Library specializes in law, history, economics, political science and the history of political institutions.
It concerns itself with the collection of legislative documents and parliamentary records from Italy
and many other countries. The archives also contain large collections relating to other disciplines,
as well as valuable antique volumes and publications by public and private bodies.

Tue-Thu: 10 AM - 5 PM

The collections cover art, history, urban planning, social, cultural and religious life of Rome
between the 17th and 20th centuries.

All the material found in this library refers to the culture and civilization of the United States.
It refers especially to History, Literature, Politics, Law and Foreign Relations.
The collection includes rare and early printed books,
periodicals and academic journals, as well as a growing number of electronic resources.

The collections specialize in History and Social Sciences, focusing on the history
and activity of Italian and European political parties and political movements.

The library is specialized in historical sciences, law, sociology and political science,
dealing with the central issues of the origins and evolution of democracy, socialism and mass movements. 

The Library of SIOI is one of the major centers in Europe for the study of International Relations.

Besides its book and periodical collections, it hosts three documentation centers:

• UN documentation center;
• European documentation center;
• Other International Organizations documentation center (OSCE, EU Council, NATO, OCSE, CRI).

The Joint Parliamentary Library was created in 2007, with the purpose of improving the services
provided by both the Chamber of Deputies Library and the Giovanni Spadolini Senate Library.
Their collections cover several disciplines:

• Economics
• History, Local Italian History
• History of Institutions
• Juridical and Political Studies
• Media Studies and Journalism
• Parliamentary Documentation

Tue: 9 AM - 5 PM
Wed-Thu: 9 AM - 4:30 PM
Fri: 9 AM - 4 PM

The collections, up to date with the most recent Italian and foreign publications,
cover Social Sciences and Modern and Contemporary History, with particular reference to:

• Local History;
• The History of Political Parties;
• The History of Political and Social Thinking.

To access to the reading rooms, researchers must:

• apply by telephone, Monday to Friday, 10 AM - 12 PM and 2:30 - 4:30 PM;
• present a valid ID document at the porter's lodge;
• fill out the admission form in the reading room:
• for students, provide a letter of presentation from a University professor
  or an employee of the Bank of Italy; the letter is valid for one year.

The Bank of Italy’s Library was established in 1894 and contains specialist volumes on Banking,
Finance and General Economics, and also has a Law section.

The David Lubin Memorial Library owns one of the world's finest collections
in food, agriculture and international development.