Libraries in Rome: Libraries A to Z

First European library open to the public (1604), its collection includes works on:​

• Reformation and Counter-Reformation (with particular reference to Italy)
• St. Augustine's Thought and the Activities of the Augustinian Order.

Open since 1701, its collections cover:​

• Religious and Theological Studies (mostly confessional oriented)
• Roman Law and Economics
• History of the City of Rome.

The library collections cover several disciplines.

• Biblioteca Marcantonio Colonna: law, administration, economics, political science and international affairs;
• Biblioteca Giorgio Petrocchi: humanities, communication and management;
• Biblioteca Luigia Tincani: education, psychology and social care.

This Library is specialized in Spanish History and Archaeology.
Another focus is the diplomatic and cultural relationship between Spain and Italy in the field of the Historical Studies 

Tue-Thu: 10 AM - 5 PM

The collections cover art, history, urban planning, social, cultural and religious life of Rome
between the 17th and 20th centuries.

The mission of CRDAV is to record the exhibiting of public and private activity in Rome and the works by Roman artists.
It includes a library and a photo archive. The library collections include:

• Catalogs of Exhibits Held in Rome, and Related Materials (Invitations, Press Releases, Flyers, etc.);
• Catalogs of Exhibits Held in Italy and Abroad;
• Sources on Contemporary Art.

All the material found in this library refers to the culture and civilization of the United States.
It refers especially to History, Literature, Politics, Law and Foreign Relations.
The collection includes rare and early printed books,
periodicals and academic journals, as well as a growing number of electronic resources.

The Library specializes in law, history, economics, political science and the history of political institutions.
It concerns itself with the collection of legislative documents and parliamentary records from Italy
and many other countries. The archives also contain large collections relating to other disciplines,
as well as valuable antique volumes and publications by public and private bodies.

The library is divided into three sections: the Corsiniana Section, the Academic Section, and the Oriental Section.

The collections specialize in History and Social Sciences, focusing on the history
and activity of Italian and European political parties and political movements.

The library is specialized in historical sciences, law, sociology and political science,
dealing with the central issues of the origins and evolution of democracy, socialism and mass movements. 

The library specializes in the city of Rome, the region of Lazio, and Dante Alighieri.

The National Gallery of Modern Art's library owns one of the two largest Italian collections on contemporary art.

The library is specialized in geography and related subjects. Its ancient collection contains
several thousands of rare books old prints, and many important manuscripts with travel accounts.

The Library of SIOI is one of the major centers in Europe for the study of International Relations.

Besides its book and periodical collections, it hosts three documentation centers:

• UN documentation center;
• European documentation center;
• Other International Organizations documentation center (OSCE, EU Council, NATO, OCSE, CRI).

This library collections cover:

• Reference - national and international sources in all disciplines (main focus)
• History of Science
• Linguistics
• Art and History of Publishing.

The collections cover Austrian History, Art History, Literature, Culture and Society.

Mon-Fri: 9 AM - 12 PM / 1 - 3 PM

The collections cover:

• Classical Archaeology;
• Mediterranean Topography (Italy and Rome);
• Etruscology;
• Classical Art;
• Ancient History;
• Classical Philology;
• Prehistory, History of Art and Architectural History;
• Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Property;
• Archaeology, Art, History and Literature of Sweden.

The collections cover, with a special focus on the area of Rome, the following disciplines:

• Archaeology;
• Architecture;
• Classical Philology;
• History;
• Art History;
• Literature.

An important section concerns also Swiss art, literature, history and geography.

The National Museum of 21st Century Arts' library is specialized in documenting contemporary art and architecture.

The Joint Parliamentary Library was created in 2007, with the purpose of improving the services
provided by both the Chamber of Deputies Library and the Giovanni Spadolini Senate Library.
Their collections cover several disciplines:

• Economics
• History, Local Italian History
• History of Institutions
• Juridical and Political Studies
• Media Studies and Journalism
• Parliamentary Documentation

The Archaeology and Art History Library is a public institute dedicated to research and study,
the most important library specializing in archaeology, architecture, art and art history managed
by the Italian Ministry of Culture.

The collection documents Italian, European, and World History, in particular 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

Tue: 9 AM - 5 PM
Wed-Thu: 9 AM - 4:30 PM
Fri: 9 AM - 4 PM

The collections, up to date with the most recent Italian and foreign publications,
cover Social Sciences and Modern and Contemporary History, with particular reference to:

• Local History;
• The History of Political Parties;
• The History of Political and Social Thinking.

The National Central Library of Rome is one of the two largest libraries in Italy.

To access to the reading rooms, researchers must:

• apply by telephone, Monday to Friday, 10 AM - 12 PM and 2:30 - 4:30 PM;
• present a valid ID document at the porter's lodge;
• fill out the admission form in the reading room:
• for students, provide a letter of presentation from a University professor
  or an employee of the Bank of Italy; the letter is valid for one year.

The Bank of Italy’s Library was established in 1894 and contains specialist volumes on Banking,
Finance and General Economics, and also has a Law section.

The collection includes documentation about the administration of Rome,
but also its economic, political, social and cultural history.

The collections include works on:

• Church History (Reformation and Counter-Reformation in particular)
• Medieval Studies and Paleography
• Culture and History of Rome and Lazio (Fondo Società Romana di Storia Patria).

The David Lubin Memorial Library owns one of the world's finest collections
in food, agriculture and international development.

The collections cover:​

• Theory and history of restoration;
• Museums and museum objects;
• Archaeology;
• Built heritage and sites;
• Libraries and archives;
• Materials conservation, scientific analysis, and disaster and risk management, illicit traffic;
• Legal protection, documentation, training;
• Cultural heritage management.

The collections cover archaeology, history, and art history of Rome and of Italy.

This library collections cover:

• Spanish Art and Architecture (main focus);
• Spanish Contemporary Creativity;
• Cultural Relations between Spain and Italy;
• Italian Art and Architecture;
• Spanish History, Literature, and Music.

The library contains around 25 000 academic books and journals and is a principal hub
in the research activities, studies, and knowledge exchange that takes place at the institute.
Together with the photographic archive collection, it makes a unique resource to explore
the art history of late antiquity, classical archaeology, and Byzantine art in Italy and in the Mediterranean basin.