Libraries in Rome: History

First European library open to the public (1604), its collection includes works on:​

• Reformation and Counter-Reformation (with particular reference to Italy)
• St. Augustine's Thought and the Activities of the Augustinian Order.

Open since 1701, its collections cover:​

• Religious and Theological Studies (mostly confessional oriented)
• Roman Law and Economics
• History of the City of Rome.

This Library is specialized in Spanish History and Archaeology.
Another focus is the diplomatic and cultural relationship between Spain and Italy in the field of the Historical Studies 

All the material found in this library refers to the culture and civilization of the United States.
It refers especially to History, Literature, Politics, Law and Foreign Relations.
The collection includes rare and early printed books,
periodicals and academic journals, as well as a growing number of electronic resources.

The Library specializes in law, history, economics, political science and the history of political institutions.
It concerns itself with the collection of legislative documents and parliamentary records from Italy
and many other countries. The archives also contain large collections relating to other disciplines,
as well as valuable antique volumes and publications by public and private bodies.

The library is divided into three sections: the Corsiniana Section, the Academic Section, and the Oriental Section.

The collections specialize in History and Social Sciences, focusing on the history
and activity of Italian and European political parties and political movements.

The library is specialized in historical sciences, law, sociology and political science,
dealing with the central issues of the origins and evolution of democracy, socialism and mass movements. 

The collections cover Austrian History, Art History, Literature, Culture and Society.

Mon-Fri: 9 AM - 12 PM / 1 - 3 PM

The collections cover:

• Classical Archaeology;
• Mediterranean Topography (Italy and Rome);
• Etruscology;
• Classical Art;
• Ancient History;
• Classical Philology;
• Prehistory, History of Art and Architectural History;
• Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Property;
• Archaeology, Art, History and Literature of Sweden.

The collections cover, with a special focus on the area of Rome, the following disciplines:

• Archaeology;
• Architecture;
• Classical Philology;
• History;
• Art History;
• Literature.

An important section concerns also Swiss art, literature, history and geography.

The Joint Parliamentary Library was created in 2007, with the purpose of improving the services
provided by both the Chamber of Deputies Library and the Giovanni Spadolini Senate Library.
Their collections cover several disciplines:

• Economics
• History, Local Italian History
• History of Institutions
• Juridical and Political Studies
• Media Studies and Journalism
• Parliamentary Documentation

The collection documents Italian, European, and World History, in particular 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

Tue: 9 AM - 5 PM
Wed-Thu: 9 AM - 4:30 PM
Fri: 9 AM - 4 PM

The collections, up to date with the most recent Italian and foreign publications,
cover Social Sciences and Modern and Contemporary History, with particular reference to:

• Local History;
• The History of Political Parties;
• The History of Political and Social Thinking.

The collection includes documentation about the administration of Rome,
but also its economic, political, social and cultural history.

The collections include works on:

• Church History (Reformation and Counter-Reformation in particular)
• Medieval Studies and Paleography
• Culture and History of Rome and Lazio (Fondo Società Romana di Storia Patria).

The collections cover:​

• Theory and history of restoration;
• Museums and museum objects;
• Archaeology;
• Built heritage and sites;
• Libraries and archives;
• Materials conservation, scientific analysis, and disaster and risk management, illicit traffic;
• Legal protection, documentation, training;
• Cultural heritage management.

The collections cover archaeology, history, and art history of Rome and of Italy.