Libraries in Rome: Art History

Free Access

Via di Sant'Eufemia, 13 - 00187 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Catalog

This Library is specialized in Spanish History and Archaeology.

Access by appointment

Via Reggio Emilia, 54 - 00198 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri by appointment

Catalog

The mission of this center is to record the exhibiting activity in Rome, both public and private, and the works by Roman artists. It includes a library and a photo archive. The library collections include:

• Catalogs of Exhibits Held in Rome, and Related Materials (Invitations, Press Releases, Flyers, etc.);
• Catalogs of Exhibits Held in Italy and Abroad;
• Sources on Contemporary Art.

Access upon registration (free of charge) - photo ID and JCU ID needed

Via Michelangelo Caetani, 32 – 00186 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Thu 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Fri 9:00 am - 2:00 pm

Catalog

The collection includes American works in:

• Literature;
• Philosophy;
• History;
• Art;
• Social Sciences;
• International Relations.

Access with photo ID

Palazzo Corsini
Via della Lungara, 10 - 00165 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon, Fri 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Tue, Wed, Thu 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Catalog

It is divided into three sections: the Corsiniana Section, the Academic Section, and the Oriental Section.

It is a complex body of volumes, archival and documental resources that today permits us to attain a comprehensive knowledge of the history of Italian and European culture, and scientific research.

Access upon registration (free of charge) and by appointment - photo ID needed

Via Gramsci, 81 - 00196 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 9:00 am - 2:00 pm

Catalog

The National Gallery of Modern Art's library owns one of the two largest Italian collections on contemporary art.

Access with photo ID

Piazza della Enciclopedia Italiana, 4 - 00186 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Catalog

This library collections cover:

• Reference - national and international sources in all disciplines (main focus)
• History of Science
• Linguistics
• Art and History of Publishing.

Access by appointment

Viale Trenta Aprile, 33 - 00153 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 9:00 am - 4:00 pm

Catalog

The collections cover:

• Art History of the Late Antiquity and Middle Ages;
• Classical Archaeology and Roman Studies;
• Italian Art History until Baroque Era;
• Social History of Ancient Rome;
• Church History until Middle Ages;
• Norwegian Art History (XIXth century painting) and Polar Explorations.

Access with photo ID and by appointment (recommended)

Viale Bruno Buozzi, 111-113 - 00197 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Catalog

The collections cover Austrian History, Art History, Literature, Culture and Society.

Access by appointment, with photo ID and a letter of introduction

Via Omero, 14 - 00197 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Mon-Fri 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Catalog

The collections cover:

• Classical Archaeology;
• Mediterranean Topography (Italy and Rome);
• Etruscology;
• Classical Art;
• Ancient History;
• Classical Philology;
• Prehistory, History of Art and Architectural History;
• Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Property;
• Archaeology, Art, History and Literature of Sweden.

Access with photo ID

Villa Maraini - Via Ludovisi, 48 - 00187 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 9:30 am - 1:00 pm

Catalog

The collections cover, with a special focus on the area of Rome, the following disciplines:

• Archaeology;
• Architecture;
• Classical Philology;
• History;
• Art History;
• Literature.

An important section concerns also Swiss art, literature, history and geography.

Free access

Via Guido Reni, 4 A - 00196 Rome

Opening hours:
Tue-Fri 11:00 am - 6:00 pm

Catalog

The National Museum of 21st Century Arts' library is specialized in documenting contemporary art and architecture.

Access with photo ID

Piazza Venezia, 3 - 00187 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 8:30 am - 7:30 pm

Catalog

The collections cover: Art History, and Archaeology.

Access upon registration (free of charge) - photo ID needed

Viale Castro Pretorio, 105 - 00185 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 8:30 am - 7:00 pm
Sat 8:30 am - 1:30 pm

Catalog

The Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Roma is one of the two largest libraries in Italy.

Access with photo ID

Via del Porto 13, courtyard right - 00153 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri, 10:00 am -  4:00 pm

Catalog

The collections cover:​

• Theory and history of restoration;
• Museums and museum objects;
• Archaeology;
• Built heritage and sites;
• Libraries and archives;
• Materials conservation, scientific analysis, and disaster and risk management, illicit traffic;
• Legal protection, documentation, training;
• Cultural heritage management.

Access with letter of introduction

Via Omero, 10/12 - 00197 Rome
(June-July 15th by appointment only)

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri 9:30 am - 4:30 pm

Catalog

The collections cover chiefly archaeology, history, and art history of Rome and of Italy.

Access by appointment

Piazza San Pietro in Montorio, 3 - 00153 Rome

Opening hours:
Mon-Fri (mornings) by appointment

Catalog

This library collections cover:

• Spanish Art and Architecture (main focus);
• Spanish Contemporary Creativity;
• Cultural Relations between Spain and Italy;
• Italian Art and Architecture;
• Spanish History, Literature, and Music.