Italy Reads 2023-2024 - Italy Reads - Resources for Teachers - Library Guides at John Cabot University

Presentations

Lesson Plan: John Cabot University Edgar Lee Masters The Spoon River Antology
Prof. Carla Mummolo, Liceo Ginnasio Statale "Dante Alighieri", Rome
Spoon River Anthology Sample Lesson
Prof. Rita Gatti, Liceo Scientifico Cavour, Rome
Sample lessons on E.L.Masters’s “ Spoon River Anthology” (1915) and De Andrè’s CD on the same book “Non al denaro non all’amore né al cielo” (1971)
Prof. Raffaella Antonelli, Liceo Scientifico Statale "Farnesina", Rome
Lesson Plan: The ‘Otherness’ and us
Prof. Debora Ferrelli, Istituto Giulio Cesare di Sabaudia
Lesson Plan: The Spoon River Anthology Edgar Lee Masters
Prof. Giuliana Lilli, Liceo Ginnasio Statale "Virgilio ", Rome
Lesson Plan: Voices from the Afterlife Stories from Spoon River Anthology and Dante’s Inferno. A possible comparison?
Prof. Maria Bellucci, Istituto Istruzione Superiore "Evangelista Torricelli", Rome
Lesson Plan: Bringing dead people to life
Prof. Maria Bellucci, Istituto Istruzione Superiore "Evangelista Torricelli", Rome
Lesson Plan: Edgar Lee Masters “Spoon River Anthology” Reading of “Lucinda Matlock” Part 1
Prof. Paola Vita, Liceo Scientifico Francesco D'Assisi, Roma
Lesson Plan: Edgar Lee Masters “Spoon River Anthology” Reading of “Lucinda Matlock” Part 2
Prof. Paola Vita, Liceo Scientifico Francesco D'Assisi, Roma
Spoon River Anthology: A Lesson Plan by Monica Rizzo
Prof. Monica Rizzo, Liceo Statale Niccolò Machiavelli, Rome

Biographies

Across Spoon River: an autobiography
Autobiography by Edgar Lee Masters from the Internet Archive.
Edgar Lee Masters
Biographical entry from the Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Edgar Lee Masters 1868–1950
Biography from the The Poetry Foundation website.
Edgar Lee Masters
Biographical information from the Academy of American Poets website.
Biography of Edgar Lee Masters
Biography from Poemanalysis.com.

Articles and Reviews

How the Once-Banned Spoon River Anthology Made a Comeback in Lewistown
Article by Laura Wolff Scanlan.
'Spoon River' voices speak from grave for a century; who's still listening?
Article by Joan Cary.
A True-to-Life Setting for Voices From the Dead
Article by Jennifer Schuessler (available upon free registration and login).
‘Return to Spoon River’ at Theatre Row
Review by Deb Miller.
Creating theatre in a pandemic: Spoon River Anthology
Article by Amy Evans and James Newbery.
Spoon River: The Cemetary on the Hill
Review by Michelle Sandoval.
Edgar Lee Masters' "Jim Brown” and "Adam Weirauch"
Commentary by Linda Sue Grimes.

Full Text

Spoon River Anthology by Edgar Lee Masters
Read online or download the full text of the book from the Internet Archive.
Spoon River Anthology by Edgar Lee Masters
Audiobook from LibriVox.

Study Guides

The following study guides include free resources about Edgar Lee Masters's Spoon River Anthology, such as textual analysis, critical essays, and more.

Cliffs Notes
GradeSaver
eNotes
Study guide available within a 48-hour free trial.
Cummings Study Guides

Lesson Plans and Activities

Study.com
Lessons, Q&As, and Quizzes available upon free registration and login.

General Resources

Wikipedia: Edgar Lee Masters
Wikipedia entry for Edgar Lee Masters, with biographical information and the list of his works.
Wikipedia: Spoon River Anthology
Wikipedia entry about the Spoon River Anthology.
Featured Author: Edgar Lee Masters
News about Edgar Lee Masters, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
Edgar Lee Masters
Brief overview on Edgar Lee Masters and his poetry from the Modern American Poetry website.
Edgar Lee Masters
Page dedicated to Edgar Lee Masters and his works from the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame website, with links to external resources (Princeton University’s Manuscripts Division).

Additional Resources

Oak Hill Cemetery
Page about the cemetery that inspired the Spoon River Anthology.
Binns to present “Larger than Life” exhibit on Nov. 23
News piece about a student exhibit inspired by the Spoon River Anthology.
Spoon River
Brief record from the IMDB database about a TV Movie adaptation released in 1969.
Ritorno a Spoon River
IMDB database page about a documentary released in 2015.
The Spoon River Project
Website with complete materials to produce theater adaptations, included educational school projects.
Edgar Lee Masters Museum
Episode of Illinois Stories, from WSIU Public Broadcasting Youtube channel.
Ralph Waldo Emerson. Essays: Second Series [1844]. The Poet
Web Study Text by Ellen Moore and Ann Woodlief.
Greek Anthology
Wikipedia entry about the Greek Anthology.
Select epigrams from the Greek Anthology
By Mackail, J. W. (John William), 1859-1945, from the Internet Archive..

Italy Reads - Resources for Teachers: Italy Reads 2023-2024

Italy Reads at John Cabot University presents:

Presentations

Biographies

Articles and Reviews

Full Text

Study Guides

Lesson Plans and Activities

General Resources

Additional Resources