Italy Reads - Resources for Teachers: Italy Reads 2017-2018

This section of the NEA Big Read website is dedicated to the Poetry of Emily Dickinson and gives access to a teacher's guide and a reader's guide.

Wikipedia entry for Emily Dickinson, with biographical information and the list of her works.

Wikipedia entry for the list of poems by Emily Dickinson.

News about Emily Dickinson, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.

Online resources about Emily Dickinson from the Online Literary Criticism Collection.

Biographical information about Emily Dickinson.

Series of biographical pages from different online encyclopedias.

Biography from the The Poetry Foundation website.

A short biography from the Academy of American Poets website.

Biography from the American National Biography Online.

Biographical entry by Alfred Habegger from the Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Book review by Paula L. Woods from the Los Angeles Times.

Article by Brenda Shaughnessy from the Los Angeles Times.

Movie review by David Edelstein from Vulture

Selection of articles from The New York Times.

Article with biographical information from Hermitary website.

Article by Erin Blakemore.

By Judith Thurman.

A Study Guide about a single poem by Emily Dickinson.

A Study Guide about a single poem by Emily Dickinson.

A Study Guide about a single poem by Emily Dickinson.

A Study Guide about a single poem by Emily Dickinson.

Teaching resources about Emily Dickinson.

This lesson explores the life and poetry of Emily Dickinson and how they relate.

Sample activities to use in class to teach the poems of Emily Dickinson.

A series of lesson ideas from the Emily Dickinson Museum website.

A lesson plan from BrainPOP Educators website.

Lesson plan by Rhiannon Brownlee, University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown.

Classroom activity on how audience affects voice, based on one of Dickinson's most famous poems, "This Is My Letter To The World."

High School Lesson Plans from the Weber County Library System website.

Lesson plan and activities from EDSITEment! website.

Teaching resources from ELA Common Core Lesson Plans website.

This digital collection includes original poems, manuscripts, and letters from Dickinson to family and friends, spanning her life from 1830 to 1886, as well as numerous rough drafts and fragments of her poems.

Reserving more than a thousand autograph poems, and some 300 letters, by Emily Dickinson, it is the largest Dickinson collection in the world, including [...] family papers that provide insight into the context of the poet’s life and work.

The Complete Works by Emily Dickinson with an Italian translation and notes by Giuseppe Ierolli.

The Dickinson Electronic Archives is a website devoted to the study of Emily Dickinson, her writing practices, writings directly influencing her work, and critical and creative writings generated by her work. The DEA is produced by the Dickinson Editing Collective.

Dickinson Electronic Archives 2 is a scholarly resource showcasing the possibility of interdisciplinary and collaborative research and exploring the potential of the digital environment to reveal new interpretive material, cultural, historical, and theoretical contexts.

The Emily Dickinson International Society was incorporated in 1988 in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to promote, perpetuate, and enhance the study and appreciation of Emily Dickinson throughout the world through such activities as:
- Sponsoring international conferences;
- Helping to establish and support local chapters and regional programming;
- Sponsoring a journal and a bulletin;
- Sponsoring graduate fellowships and scholar awards to advance study of Emily Dickinson.

Emily Dickinson Archive (EDA) provides high-resolution images of manuscripts of Dickinson’s poetry, along with transcriptions and annotations from selected historical and scholarly editions.

The Emily Dickinson Museum comprises two historic houses in the center of Amherst, Massachusetts associated with the poet Emily Dickinson and members of her family during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. [...] The Museum was created in 2003 when the two houses merged under the ownership of Amherst College. Its mission is to educate diverse audiences about Emily Dickinson’s life, family, creative work, times, and enduring relevance, and to preserve and interpret the Homestead and The Evergreens as historical resources for the benefit of scholars and the general public.

Text of numerous Dickinson poems provided by the University of Virgina.

Official UK Trailer [HD] by Thunderbird Releasing.

Interview to Cynthia Nixon (Emily Dickinson in A Quiet Passion) by Candy Palmater for Q, CBC Radio.

Director Terence Davies and actors Cynthia Nixon and Jennifer Ehle discuss their film 'A Quiet Passion' following a screening at the 54th New York Film Festival.

Article about the movie by Richard Brody from the New Yorker.