Italy Reads 2015-2016 - Italy Reads - Resources for Teachers - Library Guides at John Cabot University

Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye

The cover of the official

Italy Reads 2015 edition of

THE BLUEST EYE

(ISBN: 978-0-099-75991-1)

The annual Teacher and Book Group Leader Training Workshop will be held on

Friday, 11 September 2015,

10:00am-4:00pm,

Aula Magna Regina (lunch will be offered on the Secchia Terrace)

John Cabot University

Via della Lungara 233

Bando di concorso

Table of Contents

Italy Reads 2015

Resources

The Bluest Eye Structure

General Resources

Wikipedia: Toni Morrison
Wikipedia entry for Toni Morrison, with biographical information and the list of her works.
Wikipedia: The Bluest Eye
Wikipedia entry for The Bluest Eye.
Featured Author: Toni Morrison
The New York Times page about Toni Morrison, with links to book reviews, articles, photos and audio files.
Toni Morrison Society
The official website of the Toni Morrison Society.
Toni Morrison (1931 - )
Online resources about Toni Morrison from the Online Literary Criticism Collection.
Toni Morrison
Page about Toni Morrison on the University of Minnesota website.

Interviews

Toni Morrison, The Art of Fiction No. 134
Transcript of an interview conducted by Elissa Schappell for The Paris Review.
Toni Morrison - Video Interview
Toni Morrison Interview: Books, Beloved, The Bluest Eye, Essays, Influences, On Writing (2001).
An Interview and Reading with Novelist Toni Morrison
Audio recording from the Pacifica Radio Archives
Toni Morrison
An interview by Christopher Bollen.
Toni Morrison: Write, Erase, Do It Over
Interview by Rebecca Gross for the NEA Arts magazine.
Toni Morrison Talks About Her Motivation for Writing
Video interview by A Mercy, NVLP.
Toni Morrison Interview: On Racism, Her New Novel and Marlon Brando
An interview from The Telegraph by Gaby Wood.
Toni Morrison on Love, Loss and Modernity
An interview by Ariel Leve.
'The Language Must Not Sweat'
Interview by Thomas LeClair.
'I Regret Everything': Toni Morrison Looks Back on Her Personal Life
Toni Morrison interviewed by Terri Gross on NPR Fresh Air.
Toni Morrison: ‘I’m Writing for Black People … I Don’t Have to Apologise’
Interview by Hermione Hoby, published in The Guardian.
Toni Morrison: 'I Want to Feel What I Feel. Even if It's not Happiness'
Toni Morrison interviewed by Emma Brockes for The Guardian.
The Radical Vision of Toni Morrison
Toni Morrison interviewed by The New York Times Magazine contributing writer Rachel Kaadzi Ghansah.
Audio Interview with Toni Morrison
1987 audio interview with Toni Morrison.
Interview with Toni Morrison
Interview by freelance writer Catherine Elsworth for Goodreads.
Toni Morrison Knows All About the "Little Drop of Poison" in Your Childhood
Interview by Maddie Oatman.
Toni Morrison on Her New Novel God Help the Child, Race and Racism
Audio interview on CBCRadio.

Study Guides

The following study guides include free resources about The Bluest Eye, such as chapter summaries, character analysis, and critical essays.

Digital Materials

Nobel Prize Lecture
Listen to the Nobel Prize lecture given by Toni Morrison on December 7, 1993.
Nobel Prize Lecture (Transcript)
Transcript of the Noble Prize lecture given by Toni Morrison.
Toni Morrison Audio
Collection of audio clips of Morrison's works.
Toni Morrison
A collection of videos from the BBC Arts Archive.
Toni Morrison "On Air"
A collection of audio from the BBC iPlayer Radio.
Toni Morrison on Youtube
Videos with Toni Morrison from Youtube.
Review: The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
A video review of the novel by Ashley Riordan.
Lecture 13: Toni Morrison, The Bluest Eye
Professor Hungerford's lecture for ENGL 291: The American Novel Since 1945, an Open Yale Course.
Watch The Bluest Eye Video
Selection of videos from OVGuide.

Teaching Racism

"Home" by Toni Morrison
Link to The House That Race Built on Google Books. The first chapter (pages 3-12) is the essay "Home" by Toni Morrison.

Schultz, Katherine. "Interrogating Students' Silences." Everyday Antiracism: Getting Real about Race in School. Ed. Mica Pollock. New York: The New Press, 2008. 217-221. Print.

Gándara, Patricia. "Strengthening Student Identity in School Programs." Everyday Antiracism: Getting Real about Race in School. Ed. Mica Pollock. New York: The New Press, 2008. 44-49. Print.

Italy Reads 2015: Toni Morrison: A Biographical Introduction

Toni Morrison's Biographies

Toni Morrison - Biographical
Brief biography from the Nobel Prize website with selected bibliography.
Toni Morrison Biography
Biographical information about Toni Morrison.
Toni Morrison Biography
Brief biographical sketch of Toni Morrison.
Toni Morrison
Series of biographical pages from different online encyclopedias.
Short Biography of Toni Morrison
Biographical page on the novelist.
Toni Morrison National Visionary
The National Visionary Leadership Project page about Toni Morrison.

Articles and Reviews

Toni Morrison
Atlantic articles about Toni Morrison.
Toni Morrison, Roz Chast Among Winners of National Book Critics Circle Awards
Article by Jennifer Maloney published in The Wall Street Journal.
Toni Morrison Reviews
Two book reviews from Popmatters.com.
Toni Morrison on Race Relations in America: 'I Want to See a White Man Convicted for Raping a Black Woman'
The Independent article by Neela Debnath about Toni Morrison's opinion on race relations in America.
Can We Find Paradise on Earth?
Article by Toni Morrison inThe Telegraph.
Toni Morrison
The Guardian articles about Toni Morrison.
Bluest Eye Banned: Why Parents Want Toni Morrison's Book Out Of Schools
A Mic.com article about The Bluest Eye.
To Toni Morrison, Nobelist
Article from The Chicago Tribune about Toni Morrison winner of the Nobel Prize for literature.
In the News: Toni Morrison
Selection of articles from the Los Angeles Times.
In the News: Toni Morrison
Selection of articles from The Baltimore Sun.
Who Is the Author of Toni Morrison?
Article by Boris Kachka from the New York Magazine.
Toni Morrison, the Grande Dame of American Fiction, Has a New Novel, A Mercy.
Article by Diane Johnson published on Vanity Fair.
Toni Morrison
Two articles from Student Pulse.
Toni Morrison Dispenses Writing Wisdom in 1993 Paris Review Interview
Blog post by Josh Jones on Open Culture.
The Nobel Prize in Literature 1993
Nobel Laureate page from the Nobel Prize website.
Racialised Beauty: Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye
Essay by Esti Sugiharti on The Bluest Eye.
Sweetness
Toni Morrison's fiction published in The New Yorker.
Nobel Laureate Morrison on Race in Contemporary America
BBC News article by Razia Iqbal.
Memory, Creation, and Writing
Article by Toni Morrison published in Thought in 1984.
Nobel Lecture
Nobel lecture by Toni Morrison at Princeton University (December 7, 1993).

Lesson Plans and Activities

Toni Morrison Lesson plans and Teaching idas
Teaching resources for The Bluest Eye.
Language Matters II: Reading and Teaching Toni Morrison
Novel discussion about The Bluest Eye.
Setting the Stage: Analysis Strategies for Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye
Lesson aiming at a stylistic analysis of the elements in the writing of Toni Morrison to comment on her portrayal of African American identity and standards of beauty during the 1940s and 1950s from Maryland Public Schools Portal.
Teaching Specific Texts: The Bluest Eye (I)
Lesson plan by Jean Trounstine used in CLTL programs.
Teaching Specific Texts: The Bluest Eye (II)
Lesson plan by Robert Waxler used in CLTL programs.
Analyzing Interaction of Multiple Themes: A “Power Line” of Characters in The Bluest Eye
Lesson plan about he theme of power and powerlessness.
The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
Lesson Plan developed by Alison Margaret Doyle for a sophomore English literature course.
Sample Activity Pack
Sample activities for analyzing The Bluest Eye.
An Introduction to Toni Morrison and The Bluest Eye
Lesson plan developed at University of North Carolina at Pembroke.
The Bluest Eye
Activities and commentary at SwissEduc English.
An Approach for Teaching The Bluest Eye
PowerPoint presentation developed by Roger S. Baskin, Sr.

Additional Resources

The Book of Mean People: Toni Morrison’s Children’s Allegory about Kindness and Context
Article by Maria Popova.
The Big Box: Toni Morrison’s Darkly Philosophical Children’s Book, a Collaboration with Her Son
Another article by Maria Popova.
Author Chronology
Author Chronology from the official Toni Morrison Society website.
The Critical English Educator: Teaching The Bluest Eye
Essay by Melissa B. Schieble published in the Wisconsin English Journal about teaching practices.
Exposing the “Master Narrative”: Teaching Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye
Blog post from Feminist Teacher
'Bluest Eye' Becomes Common-Core Flash Point
Blog post by Anthony Rebora on Education Week Teacher.
The Bluest Eye Reading Group Discussion Questions
Reading Group Discussion Questions from Oprah Winfrey's website.

Italy Reads - Resources for Teachers: Italy Reads 2015-2016