Italy Reads - Resources for Teachers: Italy Reads 2014

A presentation by Professor Carlos Dews

Wikipedia entry for Ernest Hemingway, with biographical information and the list of his works.

Wikipedia entry for A Farewell to Arms.

Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum web site. General information about the author, his life and works is available.

The Ernest Hemingway Foundation of Oak Park fosters understanding of the life and work of Ernest Hemingway, with emphasis on his Oak Park origins and his impact on world literature.

Tribute website to the life and legend of Ernest Hemingway. The section about the author give a brief overview of his life.

The New York Times page about Ernest Hemingway, with links to book reviews, articles, photos and audio files.

Home page of the Hemingway Society.

Novel full text available from The Internet Archive.

Introductory page to A Farewell to Arms resources on The Big Read website.

Listen to the audio guide and read the transcript.

Brief biography from the Nobel Prize website with selected bibliography.

Biographical information about Ernest Hemingway.

Biographical sketch from The European Graduate School.

Hemingway’s biographical page created by the History Channel website.

Biographical page about Hemingway's life. To navigate from one section to the other go to the bottom of the page.

Biography of Ernest Hemingway from The Poetry Foundation. The page includes a bibliography with his works and criticism about his work, and links to selected poetry.

Brief biographical information from IMDb.

Brief biographical sketch of Ernest Hemingway.

Hemingway's bibliography from PBS website.

Brief biographical sketch from the Timeless Hemingway website.

Series of biographical pages from different online encyclopedias.

Transcript of an interview conducted by George Plimpton for The Paris Review.

Interview in Spanish (with English subtitles).

Interview by Robert Van Gelder published in 1940 in The New York Times.

Article/Interview by Edward Stafford published in The Wirter's Digest.

The exclusive Atlantic Unbound interview with the author of In Our Time, The Sun Also Rises, and True at First Light.

List of articles and resources selected by researchers and editors of The New York Times.

Atlantic articles from 1939 to 1983 by Edmund Wilson, Malcolm Cowley, Alfred Kazin, and others.

Selection of articles from Timeless Hemingway, The Hemingway Review, The New York Times, The Atlantic Monthly, and the Virginia Quarterly Review.

Article by Kate Zernike published in The New York Times on Hemingway's letters found in Cuba.

Article by Celestine Bohlen published in The New York Times about Hemingway as letter writer.

Blog post by Josh Jones on Open Culture.

Life article with photographer Alfred Eisenstaedt's pictures of Ernest Hemingway.

Two part article by Robert Manning.

List of articles and interviews published in The New York Times.

Article by Anders Hallengren on the Nobel Prize website.

Article about Hemingway as a reporter in Paris.

The Independent article by John Walsh about Hemingway's suicide.

Articles by Hemingway reporting the Spanish war for the North American Newspaper Alliance.

The Telegraph article about A Farewell to Arms.

Article by Eric Hayden about the alternate endings of the novel.

Article by Edward Mendelson published in the New York Review of Books.

Digitized version of the 2006 Teacher Guide published by NEA The Big Read.

Teaching resources for A Farewell to Arms.

Assignments and resources for teaching A Farewell to Arms.

Lesson on A Farewell to Arms major themes.

Introduction about the main setting of Hemingway's novel.

Collection of Hemingway's photos at the Princeton University Library.

Series of audio files containing a variety of speeches by Hemingway.

Video about the last years of Hemingway's life and what drove him to his last act of public note.

A brief glimpse into the life of Ernest Hemingway and some of his more notable lifetime achievements.

A brief glimpse into the life of Ernest Hemingway and insight as to how he was perceived by those who knew him.

Video biography of Ernest Hemingway.

Selection of videos about Ernest Hemingway.

Collection of audio clips of Hemingway works.

Listen the Noble Prize acceptance speech and read a transcript of it.

Ernest Hemingway recording from the late 1950s. This speech displays Hemingway's aggressive, and in this recording somewhat inebriated, personality and style.

1932 film directed by Frank Borzage and starring Helen Hayes, Gary Cooper, and Adolphe Menjou.

Article published in The Guardian about the film adaptation of the novel.

1957 film available on YouTube.

Another version of the 1932 film.

Digitized version of the 1932 film screenplay.

Website of the exhibit held at the National Portrait Gallery (Smithsonian Institute) in January 2000.

Article by Tom Stoppard for the PBS American Masters series.

Hemingway's career timeline from the PBS American Masters series.

Archival collections of documents by and about Hemingway at the JFK Library.

An online exhibition curated by L. Rebecca Johnson Melvin and Timothy D. Murray (University of Delaware).

The website showcases the columns Ernest Hemingway wrote while reporting for The Toronto Star in the early 1920s.

Ten historians from 10 countries give a brief history of the first world war through a global lens. Using original news reports, interactive maps and rarely-seen footage, including extraordinary scenes of troops crossing Mesopotamia on camels and Italian soldiers fighting high up in the Alps, the half-hour film explores the war and its effects from many different perspectives.

Article by Maria Popova about Hemingway and Italo Calvino.