Library Guides: Economics: Websites

Selected Websites

Center for Global Development
CGD conducts research and analysis on a wide range of topics related to how rich country policies impact people in the developing world, including education, globalization, and trade.
Global Competitiveness
Published by the World Economic Forum, The Global Competitiveness Report assesses the competitiveness landscape of 144 economies, providing insight into the drivers of their productivity and prosperity. The Report series remains the most comprehensive assessment of national competitiveness worldwide.

Economics and Financial News

Financial Times – FT.com Europe
World business, finance and political news.
Wall Street Journal - Europe Edition
Europe edition of the Wall Street Journal online with enhanced European coverage and data to the Online Journal's deep global offering.

Reference Resources

EH.Net
The EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History is designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by a group of authorities, and carefully edited. A distinguished Advisory Board recommends entry topics, assists in the selection of authors, and defines the project's scope.
Library of Economics and Liberty: The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
The encyclopedia features easy-to-read articles by over 150 top economists, including Nobel Prize winners, over 80 biographies of famous economists, and many tables and charts illustrating economics in action.
Resources for the Economists on the Internet (RFE)
Sponsored by the American Economic Association, the site gives access to more than 1000 online economic resources.

Presenting Data and Statistics

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe - Making Data Meaningful guides
The Making Data Meaningful guides are intended as a practical tool to help managers, statisticians and media relations officers in statistical organizations use text, tables, charts, maps and other devices to bring statistics to life for non-statisticians.

FRED Economic Data This link opens in a new window
Economic time-series database that provides downloadable U.S. and international economic and financial data.
To learn how to use the database, find and download data you can browse the Getting to Know FRED® guide
RePEC This link opens in a new window
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a public access Web site and it, serves as a directory and database for scholarly communication in economics and other social sciences. IDEAS is the complete database with some content in full text.
Social Science Research Network eLibrary This link opens in a new window
SSRN is composed by a number of specialized research networks. The eLibrary includes abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, and a collection of downloadable full text documents.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

EconBiz Open
EconBiz Open is a repository of open access material in business and economics. It is a joint project of the German National Library of Economics and the University and City Library of Cologne. It includes data from RePEc and other mainly European databases.