Collection development is a community process involving all the constituents of John Cabot University (Librarians, Faculty, Staff and Students). The Librarians receive information on course readings and liaise with Faculty members to promote their input; Students and Staff members are welcome to submit their suggestions. The Head Librarian sits in the Academic Council and seeks advice from the Department Chairs when important decisions need to be taken (e.g. for periodical and database renewals). The acquisition of new expensive resources is subject to the Vice President of Academic Affairs’ and President’s approval. The ultimate responsibility for the content of the collection rests with the Head Librarian.
The most important criteria applied in the selection of materials are:
The main selection tools used by the Librarians are the standard sources developed by the American Library Association and by its academic section, the Association of College and Research Libraries:
The Library collects print and digital resources as well as audiovisual materials. The online version is preferred (when costs permit) for scholarly journals, reference materials and reserve collections.
Most of the collections are in English, which is the language of instruction. Exceptions are made for primary sources on Italian language, history, arts and culture, on ancient history (Latin and Greek) as well as for the other foreign languages taught at the University (French and Spanish).
Emphasis is on Italy, Europe, the Mediterranean area, and United States.
The Library welcomes gifts of materials relevant to John Cabot University needs and in usable condition. All potential gifts will be evaluated in accordance to the Library collection development policy.
The Library maintains the right to decide which materials will be kept for the collection and to handle inappropriate materials by return to the donor, sale, forwarding to another library, or discard. The Library will also make all decisions regarding the cataloging, location and any other appropriate consideration relating to the use of the donated items.
The process of weeding is an integral part of the activities needed to keep and maintain an up-to-date, relevant collection. Generally the Library will consider for withdrawal: