Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
Examples
Herzfeld, Michael. Evicted from Eternity: The Restructuring of Modern Rome. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2009.
Janson, H. W., and Dora Jane Janson. A History of Art: A Survey of the Visual Arts from the Dawn of History to the Present Day. London: Thames and Hudson, 1962.
Anthology/Edited Book
Ferguson, Margaret W., Mary Jo Salter, and Jon Stallworthy, eds. The Norton Anthology of Poetry. 5th ed. New York: W.W. Norton, 2005.
Chapter from anthology/edited book
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter." In
Example
Davis, Kingsley. "The Urbanization of the Human Population." In The City Reader, edited by Richart T. LeGates and Frederic Stout, 25-34. London: Routledge, 2011.
Chapter from authored book
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Chapter." In
Example
Beard, Mary. "The History of Laughter." In Laughter in Ancient Rome: On Joking, Tickling, and Cracking Up, 49-69. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2014.
N.B.: When the source in use is a chapter from an authored book, the citation is generally of the book as a whole (see examples in first box on top). It can be cited also as a chapter, according to the scheme above.
Classical sources are given in the footnotes ONLY, following the title guidelines available in the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
They are included in a bibliography when the reference is to information supplied by a modern author; if there is a comparison between two translations, both of them need to be acknowledged with detailed information about the two translators.
Ancient Author's Name. Title of Work. Translated by First name Last name. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
Also:
Ancient Author's Name. Title of Work. Edited by First name Last name. Translated by First name Last name. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
Example
Vergil. The Aeneid. Translated by C. Day Lewis. New York: Doubleday, 1953.
For more information about Classical Sources, refer to the Evaluating Sources Guide.
Well-known reference works are usually cited in the footnotes rather than in bibliographies.
Example
7. Encyclopedia Britannica, s.v. "Cognitivism," (2016), http://academic.eb.com/EBchecked/topic/1366380/cognitivism.
In case it is required for specific reasons to include them, remember that online versions need a short form of the URL or a DOI, if it is available.
Last Name, First Name. "Title of Entry." In Title of Encyclopedia (edition), edited by First name Last name. Year of Publication. http://xxxx.
"Title of Entry." In Title of Encyclopedia (edition), edited by First name Last name. Year of Publication. http://xxxx.
Examples
Baehr, Amy R. "Liberal Feminism." In The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Edward N. Zalta. 2013. http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/feminism-liberal/.
"Cognitivism." In Encyclopedia Britannica. 2016. http://academic.eb.com/EBchecked/topic/1366380/cognitivism.
Sacred Texts
They are treated as reference sources, therefore cited in footnotes only.
Examples
10. Job 4:16 (New Revised Standard Version).
11. 1 Cor. 13:1-15 (NRSV).
N.B.: The first time a standard edition is referenced, its name is given in parenthesis in full (note 10), in following footnotes the acronym can be used, still in parenthesis (note 11).
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication. Name of Database.*
Example
Daley, Tad. Apocalypse Never: Forging the Path to a Nuclear Weapon-Free World. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2010. ebrary Academic Complete.
*Alternatively the name of the database can be replaced by a URL when it is based on a DOI.
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year of Publication. Format.
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year of Publication. Application or device format.
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year of Publication. doi:xxxxx (or http://xxxxxxx).
Examples
Thomas, Hugh. The Spanish Civil War. London: Penguin, 2013. Kindle.
Thomas, Hugh. The Spanish Civil War. London: Penguin, 2013. Acrobat Reader PDF.
Taylor, F. Jay. The United States and the Spanish Civil War. New York: Bookman, 1956. https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uc1.b4438723;view=1up;seq=9.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License | Details of our policy
