Skip to main content

Chicago Notes & Bibliography Style: Introduction

Introduction to the Guide

This guide is based on chapter 14 of The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017). The notes and bibliography system is recommended by Chicago for works in the humanities (e.g.: classical studies, art history, history).

When to Cite

Every time you use ideas, theories, research, or direct quotes of other authors, you have to cite their works. Therefore, whether paraphrasing a concept, quoting an author directly, or summarizing an idea that somehow influenced your work, you must give credit to the original source. This will help you avoiding plagiarism.

The sources that you use within your work must appear both in the text (Footnotes) and, with full details, at the end of your research paper (Bibliography), where they have to be in alphabetical order.

Each source cited in the text must appear in the bibliography, and each entry in the bibliography must be cited in the text.

In this guide you will find examples of footnotes, as well as examples of entries that are used to compile the bibliography.

Chicago Manual of Style

For a complete list of style rules, please consult the Chicago Manual.

Turabian

What is Turabian Style?
Turabian Style is a version of the Chicago Notes and Bibliography Style, simplified for college students.

It is based on A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian, and is used mainly in the humanities and in some social sciences.

Citation Tools from Databases

This database provides the correct format, but remember to REVIEW for accuracy and make corrections before using the citations (e.g.: to personal names, capitalization, and dates).

 

This database provides the correct format, but remember to REVIEW for accuracy and make corrections before using the citations (e.g.: to personal names, capitalization, and dates).

 

 

EBSCOhost

When your source is an article or an ebook from one of the EBSCO Databases, make sure you choose the right Chicago format (labeled "Humanities)

Risultati immagini per jstor

JSTOR provides the correct format, but remember to REVIEW for accuracy and make corrections before using the citations (e.g.: to personal names, capitalization, and dates).