Economics: Statistics

Home page of the United Nations Statistics Division, which provides access to economic indicators, demographic and social statistics, through the UN databases.

Produced by the St. Louis Federal Reserve, this database provides a way to look for worldwide economic indicators.

The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

World population statistics back to 1950

The World Bank Data includes world statistics and the World Development Indicators (WDI) that provide cultural, demographic, economic, environmental and health data for over 200 countries.

This website pulls out information from various UN statistical databases. You can pull out information from databases individually, or search by country.

Statistical portal for EU countries. Data are collected from the National Statistics Institute, the enlarged European Union, candidate countries, and the EFTA.

Yearbooks profiling food and agriculture in 155 countries dating back to 2004.

The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the IMF World Economic Outlook report.

Links to official statistical offices all over the world.

Data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. Select data by country and sector.

Search a country name for a variety of information. Historical statistics are available

The International Human Development Indicators are a set of data that are used to prepare the Human Development published by the United Nations Human Development Programme.

The Penn World Table (PWT) is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity, with country and period coverage depending on the release. The website gives access to several releases of this data set, as well as documentation.

This database, maintained by the Statistical Division of the UNECE Secretariat, provides free access to data structured to facilitate easy retrieval of statistics by users. It is organised by subject or policy areas, including economy, population and gender, transport, and millennium developmental goals.. Multi-dimensional tables present data by country, by various socio-economic classifications related to the context, and by time period.

"The Global Poverty Mapping Project seeks to enhance current understanding of the global distribution of poverty and the geographic and biophysical conditions of where the poor live."