Library Guides: Sustainability: Learn More

Recommended Resource by Topic

Check out the Library's page featuring additional resources on UN SDG 2: Zero Hunger.

EU Food Policy Coalition
Participants in the EU Food Policy Coalition work towards policy integration and alignment at the EU-level to facilitate the transition to sustainable food systems.
Food + Planet
Resources dedicated to empowering health professionals to advance sustainable food systems
U.S. Department of Agriculture | National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Resources on sustainable agriculture, global food security, environment, climate change, and ecosystems
Fair Trade International
WRAP
WRAP is a global environmental action NGO transforming our broken product and food systems to create Circular Living for the benefit of climate, nature and people.
FoodPrint
FoodPrint will help you make food choices that do less harm to the environment, animals and people.
Our Changing Menu
A primer on climate change, how the menu is changing (from drinks to desserts), and solutions. The site also includes a searchable database of food ingredients being affected by climate change.
Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch
Our original mission was to help people navigate purchasing sustainable seafood through our seafood ratings and tools like our pocket guides. The program and its scope has grown over the past 25 years. Today, our science-based assessments are a primary resource for understanding sustainable seafood around the world.
Sustainable Food Lab
We build the know-how, tools, and partnerships for sustainable farming and supply chains of the future.
Global Food and Nutrition Security Dashboard
The Global Food and Nutrition Security Dashboard offers the latest global and country-level data on food crisis severity, crisis preparedness, global food security financing, emerging risks and potential measures to help strengthen agri-food systems.

Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal
An integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health from National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
American Lung Association | State of the Air
For 25 years, the American Lung Association has analyzed data from official air quality monitors to compile the State of the Air report.
Air Now
AirNow reports air quality using the official U.S. Air Quality Index (AQI), a color-coded index designed to communicate whether air quality is healthy or unhealthy for you.
World Health Organization (WHO) | Environment, Climate Change and Health
We pursue a healthier environment by strengthening health sector leadership, building mechanisms for political and social support and monitoring progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals regarding environmental threats to health. Teams work on issues such as: Air Quality, Energy and Health; Chemical Safety and Health; Children's Environmental Health; Climate Change and Health; Healthy Urban Environments; Occupational Health; Radiation and Health; and Water Sanitation and Health (WASH).
State of Global Air
The latest data on air quality and health. Features an interactive map, a yearly report, and country reports.
U.S. Centers for Disease Control | Climate and Health
CDC's Climate and Health Program supports state, tribal, local, and territorial public health agencies as they prepare for the health impacts of a changing climate. Issues include: air pollution, allergens and pollen, food security, food and waterborne diarrheal disease, mental health and stress-related disorders, pollen and your health, precipitation extremes, temperature extremes, vectors, and wildfires.

Climate Anxiety

The Resilient Activist

We cultivate resilience to environmental stress by supporting community, personal well-being, and vital ecological health. We offer uplifting and nurturing community-building activities, articles, stories, and programs to reduce the immense overwhelm and burnout many experience in these unprecedented times.
Force of Nature

Transforming mindsets for climate action. Through our free programmes, we help young people feel empowered and develop the skills to make a difference.
How to Cope with Climate Anxiety: Stanford Expert Shares Techniques that Help

World Economic Forum article featuring expert, Dr. Britt Wray
Climate Cafes

Features community discussions and articles
It’s Time to Talk about Climate Anxiety
Mental Health and Our Changing Climate: Impacts, Inequities, Responses

The American Psychological Association and ecoAmerica are pleased to offer this update of our 2017 report, Mental Health and Our Changing Climate. Since that report appeared, concerns about the mental health impacts of climate change have grown among health professionals, policymakers, and the public.
Unthinkable

Founded by researcher and author, Dr. Britt Wray, we aim to advance the public conversation around climate change and mental health for the widespread benefit of human and ecological flourishing.

World Wildlife Fund
As the world’s leading conservation organization, WWF works in nearly 100 countries. At every level, we collaborate with people around the world to develop and deliver innovative solutions that protect communities, wildlife, and the places in which they live.
National Wildlife Federation
The National Wildlife Federation, America's largest and most trusted conservation organization, offers educational resources including on making your college campus more sustainable.
Tree Equity Score
American Forests developed Tree Equity Score to address damaging environmental inequities in tree distribution common to cities and towns all across the U.S.
Global Forest Watch
Global Forest Watch (GFW) is an online platform that provides data and tools for monitoring forests.
Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
Founded in 1970, NRDC is the first national environmental advocacy group to focus on legal action, uniting advocacy, equity partnerships, entertainment partnerships, global collaborations, litigation, and science.
IUCN - International Union for Conservation of Nature
The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) is a membership Union uniquely composed of both government and civil society organisations.

Renovate Europe
Renovate Europe is a political communications campaign with the ambition to accelerate the deep energy renovation of buildings in the EU to 3% per year, through legislation and ambitious renovation programmes.
Energy Cities
Intelligent Cities Challenge
The Intelligent Cities Challenge (ICC) is a European Commission initiative supporting European cities towards the green and digital transition of their local economies, through Local Green Deals.
greeen! architects
For more than fifteen years we have been creating enthusiastically forward-looking solutions for the built environment.
World Green Building Council
The World Green Building Council (WorldGBC) catalyses the uptake of sustainable and decarbonised built environments for everyone, everywhere. We work with businesses, organisations and governments to deliver on the ambitions of the Paris Agreement and UN Global Goals for Sustainable Development.
LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design)
LEED certification provides a framework for healthy, highly efficient, and cost-saving green buildings, which offer environmental, social and governance benefits. LEED certification is a globally recognized symbol of sustainability achievement, and it is backed by an entire industry of committed organizations and individuals paving the way for market transformation.
Go Green Routes
EU project with a consortium of 40 organisations pairing participatory approaches and citizen science with Big Data analyses and digital innovation to co-create "Urban Well-being Labs" in six “Cultivating Cities”: Burgas (Bulgaria), Lahti (Finland), Limerick (Ireland), Tallinn (Estonia), Umeå (Sweden) and Versailles (France).

Climate Designers
Climate Designers provides the knowledge, skills, and professional network to support designers to be climate leaders everywhere they work
Cradle to Cradle Certified®
Cradle to Cradle Certified® is the leading multi-attribute standard used globally across industries by designers, brands and manufacturers for designing and making products that enable a healthy, equitable and sustainable future.
Sustainable Design Guide - ESP Design
Our design guide section provides you with practical information and advice to help you design more environmentally, socially and financially sustainable products and services.
Planet Centric Design
Planet centric design is a methodology for designing products and services that do not harm the planet.

Sustainable Review
Rates brands according to sustainable aspects
UN Alliance for Sustainable Fashion
Specifically, the Alliance works to support coordination between UN bodies working in fashion and promoting projects and policies that ensure that the fashion value chain contributes to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals’ targets.

WTO | Trade and environment
Sustainable development and protection and preservation of the environment are fundamental goals of the WTO.

Calculators & Maps

CoolClimate
A University - Government - Business - NGO Partnership at the University of California, Berkeley. Includes a carbon footprint calculator, green home calculator, small business calculator.
Water Footprint Calculator
Resources on water use, and an calculator that includes your tap water use and the “virtual water” used to produce your food, electricity, gas and home goods.
Climate TRACE
Climate TRACE is a non-profit coalition of organizations building a timely, open, and accessible inventory of exactly where greenhouse gas emissions are coming from. Features an interactive Emissions Map
Climate Impact Lab
Research resources on climate science, social cost of carbon, health, agriculture, labor, energy, coastal areas. Impact map measures historical and future changes in the US and globally due to climate change.
Global Footprint Network
Footprint Calculator: measures your Ecological Footprint, determines your personal Earth Overshoot Day, and learn about solutions so we can all tread more lightly on the Earth. Open Data Platform: Our interactive map shows the Ecological Footprint and biocapacity results of nearly 200 countries since 1961.
Climate Action Tracker
The Climate Action Tracker is an independent scientific project that tracks government climate action and measures it against the globally agreed Paris Agreement aim of "holding warming well below 2°C, and pursuing efforts to limit warming to 1.5°C."
En-ROADS Climate Solutions Simulator
En-ROADS is a global climate simulator that allows users to explore the impact that dozens of policies—such as electrifying transport, pricing carbon, and improving agricultural practices—have on hundreds of factors like energy prices, temperature, air quality, and sea level rise.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Interactive Atlas
A novel tool for flexible spatial and temporal analyses of much of the observed and projected climate change information underpinning the Working Group I contribution to the Sixth Assessment Report, including regional synthesis for Climatic Impact-Drivers (CIDs).
How will I experience climate change?
Here you can find out how many more climate extremes you will face across your lifetime relative to a world without climate change.

Business

For more business resources, especially relating to the UN Sustainable Development Goals, check out this list.

Network for Business Sustainability
The Network for Business Sustainability (NBS) is a non-profit advancing sustainable development to build a fairer and more environmentally sound future. They aim to improve business practice by facilitating knowledge sharing across an international community of business leaders, scholars, students and policy makers.
World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Yale Center for Business and the Environment (CBEY)
The Yale Center for Business and the Environment (CBEY) is a hub for creating innovative and sustainable solutions to the challenges facing the human and natural systems upon which we all rely.
IFRS Sustainability
IFRS Sustainability Disclosure Standards are developed by the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB). The ISSB is an independent standard-setting body within the IFRS Foundation.
GRI (Global Reporting Initiative)
The independent, international organization that helps businesses and other organizations take responsibility for their impacts, by providing them with the global common language to communicate those impacts.
Responsible Business Alliance
The Responsible Business Alliance is the world’s largest industry coalition dedicated to responsible business conduct in global supply chains. The RBA develops strategies and tools to improve the measurement of environmental impact, improve resource efficiency, and build industry capacity and performance.
The Climate Pledge
The Climate Pledge is a cross-sector community of global companies working together to address the climate crisis and solve the challenge of decarbonizing our economy.
Science Based Targets
The Science Based Targets initiative (SBTi) is a corporate climate action organization that enables companies and financial institutions worldwide to play their part in combating the climate crisis.
ERM
We are the world’s largest advisory firm focused solely on sustainability, offering unparalleled expertise across business and finance.
ESG | The Report
Our mission is to help individuals, companies, and organizations to optimize their ESG performance so as to create a more sustainable future.

European Climate Assessment & Dataset
Welcome to the website of the European Climate Assessment & Dataset project. Presented is information on changes in weather and climate extremes, as well as the daily dataset needed to monitor and analyse these extremes.
Environmental Performance Index
The 2024 Environmental Performance Index (EPI) provides a data-driven summary of the state of sustainability around the world.
Berkeley Earth
Berkeley Earth is an independent U.S. non-profit organization focused on environmental data science and analysis.
Climate Central
Climate Central uses science, big data, and technology to generate thousands of local storylines and compelling visuals that make climate change personal and show what can be done about it.
Data-Driven EnviroLab
The Data-Driven EnviroLab uses cutting edge data analytics to create solutions to the world’s environmental problems.
Energy Policy Tracker
Team members include: The International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD); Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES); Oil Change International (OCI); ODI; Stockholm Environment Institute (SEI); Center on Global Energy Policy at Columbia University, School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA)
Our World in Data
International Organization for Migration | Environmental Migration Portal
The Environmental Migration Portal is a one-stop service website to promote new research, information exchange and dialogue, intended to fill the existing data, research and knowledge gaps on the migration, environment and climate change (MECC) nexus.
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Adminsitration | Climate Maps & Data
Interactive Tools, Gallery, and Dashboard

World Bank Open Data
The World Bank Open Data portal provides free and open access to global development data that can be searched by country, topic, or indicator.

Climate Change Knowledge Portal (CCKP)
The Portal provides an online platform from which access and analyze comprehensive data related to climate change and development. Climate data aggregations are currently offered at national, sub-national, and watershed scales.
Carbon Pricing Dashboard
Provides details about direct carbon pricing instruments and carbon markets around the world. The dashboard includes data published in the World Bank’s State and Trends of Carbon Pricing Report and is structured into two main sections: compliance instruments and carbon crediting markets.
Development Topics
The World Bank Group helps developing countries tackle today’s complex, intertwined challenges, from adapting to climate change and addressing food security to ensuring access to education, clean air, water, and energy.