Library Guides: Psychology: Websites

Selected Websites

Professional Associations

APA - American Psychological Association
American Psychiatric Association
Official website of the American Psychiatric Association, the world’s largest psychiatric organization founded in 1844.
Association for Psychological Science
The Association for Psychological Science (previously the American Psychological Society) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of scientific psychology and its representation at the national and international level.
Cognitive Science Society
The Cognitive Science Society is a non profit organization that brings together researchers from many disciplines including linguistics, anthropology, psychology, neuroscience, philosophy, and education, who seek to understand the nature of the human mind.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Psychology Dictionary
Online dictionary that provides definitions of over 500 psychology related terms.
MedLinePlus Mental Health and Behavior (NLM/NIH)
Brief descriptions and definitions of common disorders.

Primary Sources

Classics in the History of Psychology
Collection of primary source texts.
Freud Papers
The digitized collection of Sigmund Freud's papers and documents is maintained by the Library of Congress.

Psychology Portals

PsychCentral
Portal with links to a variety of topics, including links to news, resources and blogs.
Social Psychology Network
Website dedicated to social psychology and teaching. It includes a vast selection of links related to psychology.

Psychology Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, available through the DOAJ network.

Social Science Research Network eLibrary
SSRN is composed by specialized research networks in applied sciences, health, social sciences, humanities, life sciences, and physical sciences.
The eLibrary includes abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, and a collection of downloadable full-text documents.

Cogprints
Electronic archive for papers related to psychology and cognitive sciences.
Links to Data Sets and Data Repositories
Links to data sets and data repositories in the behavioral and social sciences collected by the APA website staff.