Library Guides: Business: Teaching Materials

Harvard Business Case Studies and Articles

Harvard Business School Cases

Due to copyright restrictions, Harvard Business school case studies are unavailable through the library or its course reserve service. As per the Harvard Business School Baker Library's Inter-library loan policy, HBS cases cannot be copied and sent to other libraries via interlibrary loan services.

Students can purchase cases directly through Harvard Business Publishing for a small fee. Instructors can purchase the rights from the publisher to photocopy their personal copy for students.

The Harvard Business Review does not include the Business School case studies, however it does publish one case study per issue. The Harvard Business Review is available in print in the Library and online via Business Source Complete database. Old cases can be found online by selecting "Case Study" under Document Type in combination with company names or terms of interest.

Harvard Business Articles

As of August 2013, some changes are made to Harvard Business Review (HBR) article access via databases. The access to 500 articles will be limited in in EBSCO Business Source Premier database. These articles are "read only", meaning no download to print or save on a disk.

As per EBSCO, these articles are the ones that HBR has chosen. It is a static list and it will not change yearly. However, HBR owns the content and can certainly make a change again if they choose to. These articles will be clearly marked "read only" in the database in order to differentiate them from the rest of HBR articles.

Statement on Harvard Business Review Pricing & Access

Case Studies

Case Centre
The Case Centre was created by 22 higher education institutions who wanted a reliable facility for sharing case materials among business teachers. The website provides free cases as well as cases that must be purchased. It also includes a collection of resources for teaching and learning with case studies.
CasePlace.org
CasePlace.org is a library of teaching resources designed for business school faculty. It gives access to the most recent business cases, as well as articles from the scholarly and popular press, issue reports and multimedia content.
Registration permits faculty to download “faculty only” sample copies of cases and teaching notes.
Case Studies - Harvard Business Publishing
Educators can apply for Authorized Faculty Access include: Exam copies, Teaching Notes and Student Pricing. Harvard Business Cases are also on Business Source Premier.
Case Studies -Stanford Graduate Business School
Cases produced by teh Stanford Graduate School of Business. Some cases are available for free.
European Case Clearing House
European Case Clearing House (ECCH) promotes the case method in management education by collecting and distributing case studies and teaching materials related to the cases.
Its database lets you search abstracts and bibliographic information on the case studies. Registration is required to purchase full-text.
Globalens
Registered educators can access inspection cases, teaching notes and a course pack builder.
IGI Global Teaching Cases
Teaching Cases is a collection of cases covering real-life examples of global implementation, utilization, and management of Information Science and Technology in: Business, Education, Healthcare, Engineering, Government, Social Science, and Communications. Cases are available for a fee.