January 2025
Welcome
This is the inaugural issue of Overdue - The Frohring Library Newsletter.
This newsletter is designed to keep you informed about the latest resources, services, and opportunities available at the library. From new acquisitions to workshops and services, we aim to provide all the JCU community with tools and resources that can help in creating a meaningful academic experience.
As we embark on this exciting journey together, we encourage you to explore all that the library has to offer. Whether you're seeking a quiet place to study, assistance with your research, or inspiration for your next project, our team of dedicated professionals is here to help.
What's New?
In Fall 2024, several new initiatives were launched in and by the library.
In response to a request from Student Government, the Frohring Library began a pilot project for implementing a booking system for the library seats in the Aurelian Wing, one of the most popular study spaces, and at the computer workstations in the Learning Hall. The goal is to allow library users to reserve a study space when needed, while keeping other areas unreserved to let users freely explore and find seating. Seats can be easily booked online from the library website.
The Frohring Library has also launched two important open access related initiatives, and a new guide about Open Access was published to provide support about this practice and to educate the JCU community to what open access publishing means.
The New Institutional Repository
In September 2024, the Frohring Library launched John Cabot University ScholarShip, the institutional repository aimed at archiving, organizing, preserving, and making accessible the digital scholarship faculty and students produce, showcasing the accomplishments of the University’s scholarly community. Students can see their final theses and capstone projects archived in a dedicated section, and works with a focus on sustainability are housed within the collection Sustainability at JCU, emphasizing the university's commitment to environmental and social responsibility. JCU ScholarShip serves as the archive for all open access scholarly publications by faculty members to ensure that that their research is widely available. | The Open Access Publishing Support FundThe Open Access Publishing Support Fund is as a pilot project created by the Frohring Library with the support of President Franco Pavoncello aiming to reduce barriers to open access publishing and to support faculty who choose open access publishing as the best venue for their work. Starting from July 2024 the Fund has helped covering the costs of open access publishing of the following articles: Bogdan Popescu - Civic associations, populism, and (un-)civic behavior: evidence from Germany Mary Merva and Simona Costagli - Measuring information as an expanding resource: Information production and its TFP-information absorption ecosystem “multiplier” Alessandro Signorini - A Cost-Effectiveness Analysis of Navina Smart on Adult Patients Affected by Neurogenic Bowel Dysfunction Crina Pungulescu - Semantic Diversification in Equity Portfolios
The guide Open Access Publishing Support Fund provides details about the program and how to apply. Applications are reviewed on a first come first served basis, until funds are available. |
➤ Instruction Services: Take a look at some of our stats!
➤ New SubscriptionsIn the past semester we have been very active, we have received a lot of requests for new resources and we have subscribed to several electronic resources that will provide even more possibility to find good quality resources for the needs of the JCU community.
New American Political Science Review is political science's peer reviewed scholarly research journal. New International Organization is a leading peer-reviewed journal covering international affairs and political science. It features articles proposing theories and/or offering new empirical insights on international relations and global politics. New LitBase is a world literature database with a modern search experience. A curated collection of critical primary texts and secondary sources, it supports research of the most studied authors, poetry, fiction, plays, and creative nonfiction worldwide. New National Theatre Collection provides access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. New Neural is an international magazine featuring reportage and reviews of the latest trends in new media, art, literature, electronic music, and hacktivism. New Perspectives on Politics is a political science journal published by Cambridge University Press on behalf of the American Political Science Association. New Politics and Religion is an international journal publishing peer-reviewed research on the multifaceted relationship between religion and politics around the world. New PS: Political Science & Politics is a political science journal published by Cambridge University Press on behalf of the American Political Science Association. It features research on political science pedagogy, political events in the US and abroad, and the state of the discipline. New Spike is an independent art magazine for cultural criticism and unconventional ideas. New The Teaching Professor newsletter offers higher education faculty a valuable resource for staying current with effective pedagogical practices. It provides insights into a range of teaching and learning topics relevant to today's classroom, exploring innovative strategies and research-based approaches. The newsletter aims to inform and support faculty in their ongoing development as educators. Off-campus access is currently not working. New The Wire is an independent print and online music magazine covering a wide range of global alternative, underground and experimental music. |  Photo Credit: Library of Congress➤ Virtual NewsstandGet your complimentary subscriptions to the New York Times and the Financial Times, as well as access to other magazines and periodicals via our Virtual Newsstand.
 Photo Credit: Law Library of Congress
➤ Resources on TrialCurrently we have one resource on trial and we will add a few more in the next few weeks. Check our A-Z list of electronic resources to remain updated on what is available. Trial The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a searchable database that collects texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453 and large number of post-Byzantine texts (16-20 c. A.D.).
|
Book Spotlight
ISBN: 9781836084617Publication Date: 2024
ISBN: 9781438496580Publication Date: 2024
ISBN: 9781394299904Publication Date: 2024
Do you have suggestions or recommendations?
Contact us
- General information and circulation services: library@johncabot.edu
- Reference and instruction services: referenceservices@johncabot.edu
- Interlibrary loans: ILL@johncabot.edu
- Technical problems with access to digital resources on JCU Discovery: e-resourcemanager@johncabot.edu
- Acquisitions: acquisitions@johncabot.edu
- Reserves: reserves@johncabot.edu