Skip to Main Content

Literary Awards: Pulitzer Prizes

Latest Winners for Fiction

Official announcements for 2022

Video starts automatically with the announcement of Poetry finalists. Fiction finalists are announced at 43:56.

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction JOINT Winners 2023 (in order of announcement) - HERNAN DIAZ and BARBARA KINGSOLVER

Hernan Diaz (Buenos Aires, Argentina, 1973) won the 2023 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction with his second novel, Trust. By pairing a fictional biography and a fictional novel about the same events, the story sees a contemporary writer and scholar trying to reconcile the lives of two legendarily wealthy New York socialites in the "Roaring 1920's" with a successful 1937 novel which may hold the key to the objectionable ways their wealth was obtained.

Barbara Kingsolver (Annapolis, Maryland, 1955) won with her ninth novel, Demon Copperhead. The story borrows the narrative structure and the main characters from Charles Dickens' David Copperfield and transposed the ills of Victorian Britain to contemporary Appalachia, tracking the eponymous protagonist as he relies on little more than a sharp mind and good looks to survive extreme poverty and the failures of the social system.

Pulitzer Prize for Poetry Winner 2023 - CARL PHILLIPS

Carl Phillips (Everett, Washington, 1959) won the 2023 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry with his collection, Then the War: And Selected Poems, 2007-2020, which includes both a selection from seven of Phillips's earlier collections and a new book of poems, all centered around the concept of human connection in the face of violence and conflict in the present age.

Pulitzer Prizes

Joseph Pulitzer, an American newspaper editor and publisher born in Hungary, devoted part of his fortune to establish what has became one of the most prestigious American prizes.

Assigned since 1917, the Pulitzer Prize promotes excellence in American journalism, drama, music and letters. Recently, the number of awarded disciplines expanded to include poetry and photography.

The Library collects all winning titles for fiction and poetry since 2000. There was no award for Fiction in 2012.

Latest Winners for Poetry