Library Guides: PL 223 Comparative politics: Getting started

Searching

Browse the Shelves

If you want to explore the library, the subclass JF groups most of the works on comparative politics.

In particular, you can find useful books in the following sections:

JF20-1177: Comparative government

JF2011-2112: Political parties

Databases

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window CIAO is an online resource that provides access to documents and articles on international politics. It can search among publications from publishing institutions, international think tanks and scholarly journals.
It covers a very wide range of subjects related to International Politics, such as:
- Security
- Economics
- Development
- Foreign Policy
- International Relations
- Diplomacy
- Governance
- Defense Policy
- European Union
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics This link opens in a new window This encyclopedia includes peer-reviewed, long-form reference articles written by leading scholars and researchers in politics. 
Topics include:
- political economy
- world politics
- political history
- governance
- political institutions
- political violence
- political philosophy
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window Political Science Database gives access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations peer-reviewed journals, providing full text of many core titles. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news, and other sources.
Social Science Research Network eLibrary This link opens in a new window SSRN is composed by specialized research networks in applied sciences, health, social sciences, humanities, life sciences, and physical sciences. The eLibrary includes abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, and a collection of downloadable full-text documents.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is an online research platform providing legal materials, such as multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. The HeinOnline International Core package includes an entire digital library containing nearly 3,000 law and law-related journals published in more than 60 different countries. Check the additional information to see the databases included in the HeinOnline Social Justice Suite. 
HeinOnline Social Justice Suite provides access to the following databases:
- Civil Rights & Social Justice contains publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans (View LibGuide)
- Gun Regulation & Legislation in America brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more (View LibGuide)
- LGBTQ+ Rights charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today (View LibGuide)
- Open Society Justice Initiative provides access to works published by the Justice Initiative(View LibGuide)
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world (View LibGuide)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni provides a comprehensive spectrum of over 11,000 full text sources, between law, business, and news.
News sources provided by Nexis Uni include:
- national and regional newspapers
- international news
- news transcripts
- newswires and press releases
Legal material includes:
- U.S. Federal and state case law
- codes
- regulations
- legal news
- law reviews
Business content includes:
- international legal information
- business news journals
- company financial information
- industry and market news.
United Nations iLibrary This link opens in a new window The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations (via its various departments, agencies, and programs).Topics include: migration, human rights, peacekeeping and security, environment and climate change, women and gender issues, international trade, and more. 
Publications can be fully accessed and read by clicking the READER button when opening its page.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a scholarly and multi-disciplinary database from EBSCO. Contains full texts and PDF contents with searchable references.  
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general reference resource containing reference entries in a wide variety of dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers entire collections of back issues of academic journals, together with books, images, and primary sources. Journal coverage begins with the first published issue and ends with a variable date, generally three to six years from present. 
Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse is a prestigious collection of humanities and social sciences journals available in full text. Current issues are available as well as over a decade of backfile for selected journals.

PL 223 Comparative politics: Getting started

Searching

Browse the Shelves

Databases

News

For access to major news sources, check out our Virtual Newsstand!