Library Guides: PL 210 Introduction to Political Theory: Find Books and Articles

Browse the Shelves

If you want to explore the library by browsing the stacks, you can find relevant books in these sections:

B: philosophy

B 823.3: ideology in philosohy

HM 641: ideology in sociology

JA: political science (general)

JA 71-80: political science theory and relation to other subjects

JA 76: political science and sociology

JA 79: political science and ethics

JC 11-305: political theory and theories of the state

Subjects

In the Library catalog you can find specific subjects for your topic:

Political science - Philosophy
This is the official subject description for works on political theory.
Ideology
This subject can be helpful for finding works on specific ideologies.
Political science
This is a broad subject for works on political science in general, but you can find here overviews on political theory and political thought.

Political Theory Journals and Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary collection contains the full text of more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals and magazines. It also includes searchable archived content in PDF for hundreds of titles.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Humanities e-books is a collection of over 5000 high quality full-text books in the humanities.
Excerpts of the books in the collection can be downloaded as PDF files.
Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Collections delivers access to eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 475 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers entire collections of back issues of authoritative periodicals. Journal coverage begins with the first published issue and ends with a variable date, generally three to six years from present.
Along with the journal collection, JSTOR provides access to some e-book.
Online Library of Liberty This link opens in a new window
The OLL (Online Library of Liberty) is a curated collection of scholarly works that engage with vital questions of liberty.
Spanning the centuries from Hammurabi to Hume, and collecting material on topics from art and economics to law and political theory, the OLL provides you with a rich variety of texts to explore and consider.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. It also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political Science Database gives access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations peer-reviewed journals, providing full-text of many core titles. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a prestigious collection of humanities and social sciences journals available in full text. Current issues are available as well as over a decade of backfile for selected journals.
Social Science Research Network eLibrary This link opens in a new window
SSRN is composed by a number of specialized research networks. The eLibrary includes abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, and a collection of downloadable full text documents.