Skip to main content

SERVICES FOR FACULTY DURING COVID-19

TEMPORARY EXTENDED ACCESS TO DIGITAL COLLECTIONS

The COVID-19 outbreak is generating a mass of support initiatives from content providers, who are offering temporary free access to their resources to help educational institutions.

The Library Staff is making these resources available through JCU Discovery and adding them into our database list whenever possible. JCU Discovery now provides extended access to some of our database, such as EBSCO, JSTOR, PROJECT MUSE, as well as new resources, such as  the full collection of Taylor & Francis ebooks (140,000 titles). Listed below you will find important resources that cannot be found or are only partially included in the Discovery searches.

If you are looking for journal articles, we strongly recommend searching on Google Scholar, which links to most of the unrestricted e-journal collections. 

 

52 titles reprinting and commenting on the most influential articles that were published in a particular subject during a particular year. Especially useful for annotated bibliographies and literature reviews. Subjects include:

Covering a range of disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Visual Arts, and Performing Arts. Active collections include  primary and secondary sources for  Applied Visual Arts, Design, Fashion, Fashion Videos, Popular Music, and Screen Studies, as well as the e-book collection.

Offering a small selection of e-books in the following areas:

  • Care in Uncertain Times 
  • Environmentalism and Climate Change 
  • Feminist Politics and Women’s Rights 
  • Global Immigration 
  • Navigating the Threat of Pandemic 
  • Police Violence 
  • Prison and the Carceral State 
  • Racial Justice 
  • Trans Rights 
  • Women's Labor 
  • INFOBASE provides digital reference content in a variety of disciplines. Available collections include

    • American History
    • Bloom’s Literature  (curated by Harold Bloom, it includes critical essays, discussion questions, author biographies and character analyses, full-length poems, reference books, and  full-length videos of classic plays and films.
    • Writer’s Reference Center
    • Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center
    • Issues & Controversies
    • Today’s Science (including videos)
    • World News Digest.

Enter the following credentials to login:
USERNAME: distancelearnig
PASSWORD: trial

  • The INTERNET ARCHIVE, containing over 2,500 000 books in the public domain, has also unlocked borrowing restrictions to their lending collection (1,400 000 items). Create an account to borrow the books for 14 days.

Collections include 19th Century British Pamphlets covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day, and Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, focusing on the liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime.

STREAMING VIDEOS
  • Full-lenght videos of classic plays and films can be found on Bloom's Literature (see INFOBASE resources above). Today's Science, another INFOBASE collection, provides educational videos that help explaining scientific concepts.
OPEN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
INFORMATION ON THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC

The Library is maintaining a dedicated Guide.