Library News - Library Guides at John Cabot University

04/30/2022

Civita Mosillo

No Subjects

Are you curious about what's new in the Library? Check out the New Acquisitions page! Find out new books, e-books, and videos that are now available in our collections.

This post has no comments.

CIAO Focus for April: Preventive Diplomacy

04/29/2022

Livia Piotto

No Subjects

Diplomacy

Diplomacy by Nick Youngson CC BY-SA 3.0 Pix4free

CIAO Focus highlights a particular topic in the realm of international affairs. This month the focus is on preventive diplomacy.

"Diplomacy failed to deter Russia. Now's the time for a new Cold War." Similar evaluations on the strategic effectiveness and general merit of diplomacy have been made since the start of the war in Ukraine. Pronouncements proliferate about the breakdown of diplomacy, failure of diplomacy, lack of diplomacy, ignorance of diplomacy, and so on. And yet for some analysts, this art still plays a vital role in this conflict and others: "an end to the suffering...can only be achieved through diplomatic engagement... The time to sketch the outlines of a diplomatic solution is now." As the stakes continue to rise, important lessons can be learned from scholarship on preventive diplomacy.

While it remains a contested term, preventive diplomacy is an integral part of broader conflict prevention efforts. First articulated by UN Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjöld in 1960, the concept was formulated in Boutros Boutros-Ghali's 1992 report, An Agenda for Peace, which defined it as action "to prevent disputes from arising between parties, to prevent existing disputes from escalating into conflicts, and to limit the spread of the latter when they occur." A report from GSDRC explains the fundamentals of preventive diplomacy, including how it works, how it relates to conflict prevention, and how models for preventive diplomacy have developed. The Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security, a CIAO partner, has an archive of studies on de-escalation and preventive diplomacy.

Rep. Andy Kim, a former diplomat who worked at the State Department and the National Security Council, reflects on the role of diplomacy in the ongoing war in Ukraine: "to avoid the all-out catastrophe of a regional war or something that goes on for years and years and years...you need to have diplomacy." Preventive diplomacy is still, according to the European Institute of Peace, the most effective way to stop a conflict from intensifying. CIAO users can read their full study below, which concludes:

Today's challenges are global in scope...Preventing the worst scenarios from materializing is existential and will shape global politics and international relations for the rest of the century. It is by far the biggest and most important preventive diplomacy operation in history. We better get it right.

Preventive Diplomacy: The Vanguard of Multilateralism

European Institute of Peace

ECOWAS Mediation in Togo's 2017/2018 Political Crisis

Social Science Research Council

Sino-American Preventive Diplomacy During the Cold War

Journal of Diplomacy and International Relations

Diplomacy in Action: Expanding the UN Security Council's Role in Crisis and Conflict Prevention

Global Peace Operations Review

Influence of Diplomacy on Controversies

Brazilian Journal of African Studies

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

This link opens in a new window

CIAO is an online resource that provides access to a a wide range of documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields.
CIAO searches full-text publications from 300 international publishing institutions, including government research organizations, international think tanks, and scholarly journals. Among the materials included we can find working papers, research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.

This post has no comments.

April 22 - Earth Day

04/22/2022

Livia Piotto

No Subjects

Earth Day 2022

Earth Day takes place on the 22nd April. This year's theme is INVEST IN OUR PLANET.

"This is the moment to change it all — the business climate, the political climate, and how we take action on climate. Now is the time for the unstoppable courage to preserve and protect our health, our families, and our livelihoods. For Earth Day 2022, we need to act (boldly), innovate (broadly), and implement (equitably). It’s going to take all of us. All in. Businesses, governments, and citizens — everyone accounted for, and everyone accountable. A partnership for the planet."

Explore 52 ways to invest in our planet and learn more about this day in our topic guide, where you can find resources related to climate change and sustainability from the web and available in the library.

This post has no comments.

Extended opening hours - 12 Nights in the Library

04/21/2022

Paolo Livorati

No Subjects

⏰Finals are fast approaching, and starting this Sunday the library will be open longer to help you study.

From April 24 to Thursday May 5 included, our opening hours will be 8am to 1.45am the next day. The only exceptions will be on Monday, April 25 (Liberation Day) and Sunday, May 1 (Labor Day), when the Library opens at 10am.

Looking forward to working with you!

This post has no comments.

National Library Workers Day

04/05/2022

Giovanna Contigiani

No Subjects

National Library Week
April 3-9, 2022 is National Library Week, a time to highlight the essential role libraries, librarians and library workers play in transforming lives and strengthening communities.

This year’s theme is "Connect with Your Library".

National Library Workers Day, a day for library staff, users, administrators, and Friends groups to recognize the valuable contributions made by all library workers. National Library Workers' Day is held annually on the Tuesday of National Library Week, which is held every year in the month of April. The day is sponsored by the American Library Association to help honor library staff.

This post has no comments.

New eBooks in the Library

04/04/2022

Enrico Amarante

No Subjects

This post has no comments.

National Poetry Month

04/04/2022

Manlio Perugini

No Subjects

National Poetry Month is a celebration of poetry that takes place every April, first founded by the Academy of American Poets in 1996. To celebrate poetry at John Cabot University, the Library staff has collected a selection of titles that are currently displayed in the Aurelian Wing. Check out our exhibit and feel free to share your personal suggestions!

Make sure to also check out the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Awards for poetry held by the library! And do not forget the vast collection of ebooks, many poetry books are available in electronic form and cannot be part of our display but can be easily found on JCU Discovery.

Moreover, a new freely available database has been added in our A to Z list of electronic resources:

The Quarry: A Social Justice Poetry Database

New

The Quarry is a searchable collection of over 600 poems by a diverse array of contemporary socially engaged poets, published by Split This Rock since 2009. Like all of Split This Rock’s programs, The Quarry is designed to bring poetry fully to the center of public life.

Searchable by social justice theme, author’s identity, state, and geographic region, The Quarry is a unique, rich resource.

This post has no comments.

New Trial: Artfilms - video streaming

04/01/2022

Giovanna Contigiani

No Subjects

Artfilms offers more than 2000 films from top artists and independent filmmakers, mainly aimed at arts education and arts practitioners. It covers such subject areas as Visual & Applied Arts, Film Studies, Media Studies, Music & Dance, History, Philosophy, and more. The database includes masterclasses, documentaries, interviews -- content that entertains, educates, and informs.

The trial will remain active until April 30, 2022.
For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

This post has no comments.

March Acquisitions

04/01/2022

Civita Mosillo

No Subjects

Are you curious about what's new in the Library? Check out the New Acquisitions page! Find out new books, e-books, and videos that are now available in our collections.

This post has no comments.