Library News

The Budapest Open Access Initiative celebrated its 20th anniversary on February 14, 2022.

To celebrate this occasion, the BOAI steering committee released a set of new recommendations based on the original principles that reflect the developments that shaped the Open Access world in the past 20 years and that characterize the current circumstances of the academic landscape.

These past 20 years made clear that "OA is not an end in itself, but a means to other ends, above all, to the equity, quality, usability, and sustainability of research. We must assess the growth of OA against the gains and losses for these further ends. We must pick strategies to grow OA that are consistent with these further ends and bring us steadily closer to their realization."

The four high-level recommendations that have been defined address systemic problems that obstruct progress toward equity, quality, usability, and sustainability of research.

1. Host OA research on open infrastructure
2. Reform research assessment and rewards to improve incentives
3. Favor inclusive publishing and distribution channels that never exclude authors on economic grounds
4. When we spend money to publish OA research, remember the goals to which OA is the means

Reading the full-text of the recommendations is a good way to stay informed about the Open Access world. The Frohring Library supports the OA movement and will follow the recommendations to support open data, open metadata, open citations, open code, open protocols, open books, open theses and dissertations, open educational resources, open courseware, open digitization projects, open licenses, open standards, open peer review, and the many practices that make up open science.

The Frohring Library, along with the rest of JCU, will participate in Earth Hour 2022. Held every year on the last Saturday of March, Earth Hour encourages people to switch off the lights to call attention to climate change. JCU will therefore participate in Earth Hour by switching off its lights an hour earlier, while maintaining regular services from 12:00 pm to 8:00 pm.

Therefore, the library's opening hours on Saturday, March 26th will be modified to 12:00 pm to 8:00 pm. 

For more information on Earth Hour, please check out earthhour.org.

We hope you all have a wonderful Spring Break, March 19-27!

If you need us, the library will still be open, with the following hours:

Saturday 3/19 & Sunday 3/20: 12pm - 6:30pm

Monday 3/21 - Friday 3/25: 9am - 6:45pm

Saturday 3/26 & Sunday 3/27: 12pm - 8:45pm

The Ukraine Digital Book Collection freely available online until April 15th 2022.
Exact Editions is providing access to a digital collection of non-fiction books
related to the history and culture of Ukraine in support of the Ukrainian people
during these difficult times.

The collection currently contains 18 books from Yale University Press, Edinburgh University Press, Reaktion, Hurst, Central European University Press, Cambridge Scholars Publishing and Open Book Publishers. The books are written by specialists in European history, Russian studies, political science, Islamic history, art and film.

In assessing the current state of feminism and gender studies, whether on a theoretical or a practical level, it has become increasingly challenging to avoid the conclusion that these fields are in a state of disarray. Indeed, feminist and gender studies discussions are beset with persistent splits and disagreements. 

Critical realism, feminism, and gender : a reader, edited by Michiel van Ingen, Steph Grohmann, and Lena Gunnarsson, suggests that returning to, and placing centre-stage, the role of philosophy, especially critical realist philosophy of science, is invaluable for efforts that seek to overcome or mitigate the uncertainty and acrimony which have resulted from this situation.

In particular, it claims that the dialectical logic which runs through critical realist philosophy is ideally suited to advancing feminist and gender studies discussions about broad ontological and epistemological questions and considerations, intersectionality, and methodology, methods, and empirical research. By bringing together four new and eight existing writings this reader provides both a focal point for renewed discussions about the potential and actual contributions of critical realist philosophy to feminism and gender studies and a timely contribution to these discussions.

APA PsycTherapy 

APA PsycTherapy® is a continually expanding resource offering streaming psychotherapy videos that provide a gateway for students, educators, and practitioners to witness first-hand, proven approaches and common obstacles faced during therapy sessions. 
The database is searchable via EBSCOhost platform.

The trial will remain active until April 6, 2022.
For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

The Library is pleased to announce a new database trial: Political Science Complete

Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

The trial will remain active until April 6, 2022.
For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

Please, let us know what you think about this resource through our survey!

The NATO Library has created a timely and comprehensive guide on the Russia-Ukraine crisis, including essential information and an impressive collection of articles by leading experts with their latest analysis on the topic.

You can access the guide at https://natolibguides.info/ukraine and you can freely explore the resources included.  

The Frohring Library has trial access to The Chicago Manual of Style Online.

This resource is the guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. 
Now in its 17th edition, The Chicago Manual of Style with more than a thousand pages in print or more than two thousand hyperlinked paragraphs online has become the authoritative reference work for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers. This hundred-plus-year evolution has taken place under the ongoing stewardship of Chicago’s renowned editorial staff, aided by suggestions and requests from the Manual’s many readers.The website includes content from 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. 
 

The trial will remain active until May 31, 2022.
For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.