Library News

Millions of open cultural heritage resources from Europeana are now easily accessible through WorldCat Discovery.

Users of WorldCat Discovery can use the Open Access filter to quickly and easily surface resources from Europeana and other open content providers. 
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries, museums and audio-visual collections to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research, and to foster creativity and innovation.

Europeana is Europe’s platform for digital cultural heritage, empowering cultural heritage institutions to share their collections with the world. Through the Europeana website, millions of cultural heritage items from around 4,000 institutions across Europe are available online. 

Join the Frohring Library in celebrating the Global Media and Information Literacy Week!

This UNESCO events celebrate the progress achieved towards "Media and Information Literacy for all". This year, the event is hosted by South Africa and the theme is Media and Information Literacy for the Public Good.

For the occasion, the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions is hosting a webinar on Information literacy as a continuum for a successful transition to higher education (registration for the event is available here).

Many related events are taking place all over the world: a complete overview is available here.

Join the Frohring Library in celebrating 2021 International Open Access Week in October!

The theme this year is “It Matters How We Open Knowledge: Building Structural Equity”. 

October 25 -31, 2021  

Open Science should embrace a diversity of knowledge, practices, workflows, languages, research outputs and research topics that support the needs and epistemic pluralism of the scientific community as a whole, diverse research communities and scholars, as well as the wider public and knowledge holders beyond the traditional scientific community, including Indigenous Peoples and local communities, and social actors from different countries and regions, as appropriate. (UNESCO Recommendation on Open Science, Page 7).

ACRL (Association of College and Research Libraries) offers a free webcast in celebration of Open Access Week. Tune in at 1:00 p.m. Central on Monday, October 25, for “Celebrating Open Access Week: Scaling Open to Fit Local Needs.” 

The Frohring Library provides access to the Coronavirus Research Database 

The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS, to give researchers and students context around the current global crisis.
The database will continue to grow as more is learned and new content is published.

The library will be hosting this 4m2 Gallery event in the Aurelian Wing and the Upper Reading Room on October 15th.

The Aurelian Wing will be closed for studying from 6:30pm-close. The Upper Reading Room will be closed for studying from 4pm-close.

The Art History Society and 4m2 Gallery are delighted to invite you to their Fall Finissage for the exhibition by artist Giulia Mangoni.  

''Giulia Mangoni: « Primordial Shoes // Scarpe Primordiali » 

Friday, October 15: 18:30 - 20:30 - Frohring Library, Guarini Campus 

Please RSVP at 4m2gallery@johncabot.edu if interested. RSVP necessary. 

The Finissage is a concluding event for the exhibition by the artist, situated at the 4m2 gallery, since the Spring of 2021.  

Giulia Mangoni (1991, Isola del Liri, IT) is a Brazilian-Italian artist creating layered interventions that metabolize archival material through the lens of painting, mixing south American and European pictorial traditions in order to play with notions of memory and identity.  

Primordial Shoes // Scarpe Primordiali  brings together new works by Giulia Mangoni, as part of a wide-range project that emerges after a return to her birthplace in Ciociaria region, in meridional Italy, after years of living abroad. In response to a movement of territorial self-representation, the project begins with the transcription of an archive of books, objects, stories and lived experience. In collaboration with John Cabot University and inspired by the academic environment of 4m2 Gallery, the artist Mangoni has created canvas and layered panels closely connected to the performed rurality and cowboy culture of her local territory. 

Are you curious about what's new in the Library? Check out the New Acquisitions page! Find out new books, e-books, and videos that are now available in our collections.