Library News

Elisabetta Morani, JCU's long term and well-beloved Head Librarian, sadly passed away last Friday.

Out of respect for the bereavement  of Elisabetta, the Frohring Library will be closed the morning of Monday, November 30. 

All services will re-open on Monday at 1pm.

Theology & Religion Online is the digital home to a growing range of resources designed for students and scholars of Theology, Biblical Studies, Religious Studies and related fields. Ranging from exclusive new digital reference products to richly layered thematic collections comprising audio-visual content, monographs and scholarly reference, Theology & Religion Online will be the essential source for research, study, and teaching from intro to advanced levels.

The resource includes:

• Library of Catholic Thought
• T&T Clark Theology Library
• T&T Clark Jesus Library  

The trial will remain active until December 31, 2020.

For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

This collection gathers a broad range of books that examine the impact of gender and gendered experiences on individuals and groups. Coming from a variety of disciplines, these books explore the historical, social, political, and cultural contexts that have shaped and continue to shape the ways in which women in particular experience their world.

The trial will remain active until December 18, 2020. For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

The Frorhing Library provides access to the full content of the New York Times digital edition. 

All JCU members can access the NYT digital edition by activating their NTY yearly pass.  

To activate the pass follow these easy steps:

1. While connected to the JCU network (this is how the NYT site identifies our university as valid user), go to AccessNYT.com 
2. Type in John Cabot University in the search box. You will be redirected to the registration page.
3. Fill in the form as necessary. Any e-mail account (not only those from JCU) will work.

The pass can be activated, or re-activated, at any moment and lasts 365 days from the activation date.

More info: https://johncabot.libguides.com/communications/NYT 

Back issues of the New York Times can be accessed via NexisUni. The database covers issues from 1980 to the present with html only articles. Until the end of November, the newspaper is also available via database on trial Gale Reference Complete. 

You can easily access the newspaper through the E-Resources A to Z page.

"Bloomberg Quicktake is streaming news for a global view and an informed take. Watch live news on the stories changing your business and your world, powered by 2700 journalists in 120 countries. Go deeper with original shows on business, technology, politics, and culture."

You can stream live news and original shows for free and, if you are interested in more business and market related coverage you can jump to Bloomberg Television and watch live TV brought to you by the Bloomberg team.

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies is a new interdisciplinary digital resource with a global perspective. The platform brings together high-quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work, and material culture images into one cross-searchable platform.

The resource contains over 150 scholarly works (incl. primary texts, research monographs, companions) which have been published by Bloomsbury and other publishers such as IB Tauris, Arc Humanities Press, Amsterdam University Press. It also contains a newly published reference work (The Encyclopedia of the Global Middle Age) and over a 1000 images sourced from collections in the British Library, Metropolitan Museum of Art and Senate House Library (London).

The trial will remain active until December 18, 2020.

For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

This Sunday, November 15th will be the first "Domenica ecologica" (Green/Eco-Sunday) of Winter 2020/21. As there will be traffic restrictions, the Library will exceptionally open at 1:30PM.

There will be three further Green Sundays, up to March 2021, dates TBA.

Due to Covid-19 testing and sanitization procedures, the Aurelian Wing will be unavailable on November 13 from 8:00am to 1:30pm. During this time, you can still book study spaces in the Main Library as well as the Upper Reading Room using the EasyDesk app.

The EasyDesk app is now available for download from the Google Play store as well as the App Store for iPhone. 

Want to know more about EasyDesk? Click here!

Happy Studying!

Gale Reference Complete provides access to a vast amount primary and secondary sources especially in history and literature

28,000 periodicals
1.5 million items of literary criticism and full text literary works
4000 Gale eBook volumes
13 million pages of rare primary sources

The collections include:

Gale Academic OneFile
Gale eBooks
Gale General OneFile
Gale OneFile: News
Archives Unbound
Gale Literature ...

This trial will run until the November 30, 2020.
For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

Due to the new DPCM restrictions, beginning Thursday, November 5, the Library will close every day at 8:45 pm. Opening hours remain unchanged.

New Library Hours as of Thursday, November 5:

Monday – Friday 8:00AM – 8:45PM

Saturday and Sunday 12:00PM – 8:45PM