Library News

Getty Publications produces award-winning titles that result from or complement the work of J. Paul Getty Museum, Getty Conservation Institute, and Getty Research Institute. This wide variety of books covers the fields of art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities for both the general public and specialists.

Getty Publications has joined Project MUSE with the goal of providing academic libraries with broader and easier access to a selection of its highly regarded art and art history publications. 

A selection of Getty’s e-books will become available in MUSE’s main collection starting in January 2021, marking the first time works from Getty Publications have been available through an online collection. Getty’s open access publications are also becoming available on the MUSE platform and accessible through MUSE’s new Getty Publications landing page.

Several OA titles are available now and others will be added through the remainder of 2020.

October 26–30, 2020, is U.S. Annual Media Literacy Week, sponsored by the National Association for Media Literacy Education and held in conjunction with UNESCO’s Global Media and Information Literacy (MIL) Week. The mission of the week is "to highlight the power of media literacy education and its essential role in education" and, this year, U.S. Media Literacy Week will celebrate one of the five components of media literacy’s definition each day: 

A wide range of events has been organized to celebrate the Media Literacy Week. Among these, you can join media literacy expert Renee Hobbs in the discussion of her latest book Mind Over Media: Propaganda Education for a Digital Age.

You can also attend special film screenings, webinars, book talks, and online conversations about media literacy issues. 

If you are interested in learning more about medial literacy explore the resources provided by the week organizers. You can learn about what media literacy is and what it means to be media literate nowadays, and you can lean more about the core principles of media literacy. 

If you are interesting in putting into practice your expertise in the use of media, especially news, challenge yourself with Friend, Enemy, or Frenemy?, the new literacy challenged sponsored by the University of Maine Folger Library.

Sunday, November 1st is All Saints' Day and a public holiday in Italy. Therefore, the university and the Frohring Library will be closed on this day.

Have a nice weekend!

The Aurelian Wing will be closed to the public on Thursday, October 29, to allow random covid-19 testing to be conducted. As the weather is starting to get colder, John Cabot University needs a different space for the random testing and the Frohring Library is happy to provide the space needed. 

We are aware that this creates an inconvenience to our library users, but we all have to close ranks to make sure we do our best to keep the community safe.

The other Library spaces will be available as usual and seats can be reserved via the EasyDesk web app.

After the covid-19 testing, the Aurelian Wing will be disinfected and sanitized by a professional company in order to make it fully functional and safe for the following day. 

Join the Frohring Library in celebrating 2020 International Open Access Week in October!

The theme this year is ‘Open with Purpose: Taking Action to Build Structural Equity and Inclusion’. 

October 19 - 25, 2020 

According to the 2020 Open Access Week Advisory Committee, “Openness can be a powerful tool for building more equitable systems of sharing knowledge. Rebuilding research and scholarship to be open by default presents a unique opportunity to construct a foundation that is fundamentally more equitable. Yet today, structural racism, discrimination, and exclusion are present and persistent in places where openness is a core value. As a global community, it is important to understand that the systems and spaces of the present are often built upon legacies of historic injustice and that addressing these inequities is a necessity.”

ACRL (Association of College and Research Libraries) offers a free webcast celebrating Open Access Week. Tune in on Wednesday, October 21, at 1:00 pm CT, for “Celebrating Open Access Week: Building Structural Equity and Inclusion in Scholarly Communications.”

The Frohring Library has trial access to APA PsycTherapy

Produced by the American Psychological Association, APA PsycTherapy is a streaming video database of therapy demonstrations with more than 500 videos showing various treatment approaches. APA PsycTherapy is intended for educational purposes, specifically in clinical training and counselor education, and provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists.

This proven counseling training method is an invaluable tool to remain abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques. Therapists cover more than 100 approaches, such as integrated behavioral healthcare, cognitive behavior therapy and acceptance and commitment therapy. All therapy demonstrations in APA PsycTherapy are unscripted and were taped within the past ten years.

The trial will remain active until November 12, 2020.

We have set up a trial of National Theatre Collection. 

Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings outside of the NT’s Archive, the collection includes 30 films.

Please note that we have access to the above recorded performances only:

- Comedies include: London Assurance, One Man, Two Guvnors, and She Stoops to Conquer

- 20th Century Classics and Modern Plays include: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, The Cherry Orchard, Consent, The Deep Blue Sea, Les Blancs, A Streetcar Named Desire, Translations, and Yerma

- Shakespeare plays include: Coriolanus, Hamlet, Julius Caesar, King Lear, Macbeth, Othello, Romeo and Juliet, Twelfth Night, and The Winter's Tale

- Literary adaptations include: Frankenstein, Jane Eyre, Peter Pan, Small Island, Treasure Island, and Wonder.land

- Greek Classics and World Historical Drama include: Antigone, Medea, and Dara

Two new resources will be available until December 8, 2020:

Core Curriculum 

HBS Select Case Study Collection - Harvard Business Review

The University of Michigan Press recently launched Dialogues in Democracy, an interdisciplinary collection of 25 books that explore the core tensions in American political culture—tensions that erupt every four years during the presidential election.

This collection is free to read through December 31, 2020 as part of the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection.