Giovanna Contigiani
Art & Architecture Source is an art research database providing full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
The trial access ends on October 31, 2018.
For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.
Giovanna Contigiani
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.
This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
The trial access ends on November 02, 2018.
For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.
Livia Piotto
As customary, the Frohring Library is offering a series of workshops on doing business research. These workshops will be held in the Learning Hall and will cover the following topics:
You can register and reserve your seat on the Workshops page. Please, remember that registration starts 4 weeks before the event, so if you don't find the registration button, come back later and check the page again!
All attendees will receive a certificate of attendance and they can use it in case their professor requires attendance to one or more workshops.
For further assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Business Liaison, Livia Piotto (lpiotto@johncabot.edu).
Livia Piotto
From the Library of Congress Blog we share:https://crsreports.congress.gov/
"For the first time, the Library of Congress is providing Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports to the public. The reports are available online at crsreports.congress.gov. Created by experts in CRS, the reports present a legislative perspective on topics such as agriculture policy, counterterrorism operations, banking regulation, veteran’s issues and much more."
Moving forward, all new or updated reports will be added to the website as they are made available to Congress. More information can be found on the site’s Frequently Asked Questions page.
CRS services come in many forms:
These reports can be helpful when doing research on American legal issues and foreign policy.
For more information about using these reports and documents, get in touch with Political Science liaison librarian Livia Piotto (lpiotto@johncabot.edu)
Paolo Livorati
With the start of the new semester, the loan policy for laptops has changed.
All loan policies, including these, are also laid out on the back of our new Borrowing Services bookmarks, which you can pick up at the Welcome Desk and in various other spots around the Frohring Library. Of course you can always ask the Welcome Desk staff should you need any further info or help.
Livia Piotto
The library has now 5 different printers that you can use whenever you need to print a document, a paper, or a project (or a plane ticket, if that's what you need!).
The printers are located in different areas for your convenience. A black and white printer and a color printer are available in the Learning Hall, 3 extra black and white printers are available in the Aurelian Wing, in the newly open Upper Reading Room, and in the circulation area close to the scanning stations.
Of all these printers only the one located in the Aurelian Wing is not available for online printing. The other 4 printers can be found in the printer selection menu, so when the Learning Hall is used for classes, you still have a chance to print and get your documents.
The first printer in the list is the color one. Make sure you do not select it, if you don't want to be charged more than necessary!
Livia Piotto
The Frohring Library is happy to announce that two new resources have been added to the electronic collections. The new resources are especially useful for Business, Marketing, Management, and Economics, but students and professors doing research in other social sciences fields might find the resources helpful.
The Library offers a one month trial for AVON (Academic Video On-line) by Alexander Street, one of the largest video streaming collections available to academic libraries. Disciplines covered include:
Art and Design: 3516 videos
Diversity (including Asian Studies, Black Studies, Women’s studies): 3656 videos
History: 18498 videos
Literature and language (including film): 3271 videos
Music and performing arts: 7495 videos
Psychology and counseling: 2426 videos
Social sciences (including Business and Economics, Criminal Justice & Public Safety, Environmental and Food Studies, Media Studies, Politics and Current Affairs, Psychology, Religion, Social Theory, Social Work): 23763 videos
The access to the database is available for the school's network only. Remote access is currently not available, but we are working on setting it up to guarantee ease of access to the resource.
The trial will remain active until November 2, 2018.
If you need further assistance, do not hesitate to ask for assistance at the Reference Desks, or you can send an email to referenceservices@johncabot.edu.