Library News

Gale is offering us a unique opportunity: Gale Reference Complete, almost all their entire collection of research products (15 databases),  will be on trial for all JCU community to use.

The collections include:

• Academic One File, with over 30,000 peer-reviewed e-journals.
• Archives Unbound, a large set of primary sources that cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
• Infotrac Newstand, with over 2300 world news sources.
• Gale Literary Sources, an integrated digital environment cross-searching all the major Gale literary databases, including biographies, literary criticism, and commentaries.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL), a collection of 20,000 reference works.

All the resources are directly accessible from the library database page. Off-campus access is also available.

With the exception of Archives Unbound, all the resources are also integrated in JCU discovery for easy access.

This trial will run until the 19th March 2018.


For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture offers unparalleled coverage of all aspects of art and architecture from Medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century. It provides scholarly material on Medieval art in more than 2,030 intelligent, well-written, and informative articles, each of which is followed by a bibliography to support further research.

Contemporary Italian Politics, formerly Bulletin of Italian Politics, is a political science journal aimed at academics and policymakers as well as others with a professional or intellectual interest in the politics of Italy.

The Italianist has become established as one of the leading international journals of Italian Studies. From the start, it has distinguished itself from other scholarly periodicals by the broad scope of its interests.

For a very limited time we have Statista available on campus only! Grab the opportunity to take a look at this great resource for Social Sciences, Marketing, and Business.

• Take a look at the Digital Economy Compass available for download and find out about how the digital economy is shaping our world.
• Find out about the Survey on Black Friday & Cyber Monday in the United States 2017.
• Read about the television industry in Italy.

These are just some of the great reports and data you can explore with Statista. Don't miss the opportunity to boost your research!

For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.