Library News

With the beginning of the semester a new series of workshops will be offered by the Frohring Library. Take a look at the calendar and register for teh sessions that you are interested in. You can find the full list on our Library Workshops page or you can explore the upcoming events in the calendar below:

For information and questions do not hesitate to get in touch with referenceservice@johncabot.edu.

A new semester is about to start and the Frohring Library is getting ready to welcome new and returning students. 

The opening hours for the week are the following

In the meantime, we have renovated some of the rooms. The Library now has brand new stacks and we are working to open a new multifunction room that will be used for group study and instruction, and will be equipped with computers and printers.

Gary Price from INFOdocket has collected a series of resources about North Korea and its nuclear power. The full list of resources includes links to the Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI), such as a country profile, a missile map, and the missile test database.

There is also a link to the North Korea’s Strategic Threat infographic:

If you are interested in discover more about North Korea, you can browse the Library collection or you can take a look at some of the most recent books on the topic:

North Korea and nuclear weapons: Entering the new era of deterrence by Sung Chull Kim (Editor) and Michael D. Cohen (Editor)

ISBN: 9781626164543

Publication Date: 2017

North Korea is perilously close to developing strategic nuclear weapons capable of hitting the United States and its allies in East Asia. Since their first nuclear test in 2006, North Korea has struggled to perfect delivery systems, but Kim Jong-un's regime now appears to be close. Sung Chull Kim, Michael Cohen, and the contributors to this volume contend that the time to prevent North Korea from getting this capability is virtually over, and instead scholars and policymakers must turn their attention to how to deter North Korea. The United States, South Korea, and Japan must also come to terms with the fact their North Korea will be able to deter them with its nuclear arsenal. How will the erratic Kim Jong-un behave when North Korea does develop the capability to hit medium- and long-range targets with nuclear weapons; how will the United States, South Korea, and China respond; and what will this mean for regional stability in the short term and long term? The international group of authors in this volume address these questions and offer a timely analysis of the consequences of an operational North Korean nuclear capability for international security.

North Korea and the World by Walter C. Clemens

ISBN: 9780813167626

Publication Date: 2016

With nearly twenty-five million citizens, a secretive totalitarian dictatorship, and active nuclear and ballistic missile weapons programs, North Korea presents some of the world's most difficult foreign policy challenges. For decades, the United States and its partners have employed multiple strategies in an effort to prevent Pyongyang from acquiring weapons of mass destruction. Washington has moved from the Agreed Framework under President Bill Clinton to George W. Bush's denunciation of the regime as part of the "axis of evil" to a posture of "strategic patience" under Barack Obama. Given that a new president will soon occupy the White House, policy expert Walter C. Clemens Jr. argues that now is the time to reconsider US diplomatic efforts in North Korea. In North Korea and the World, Clemens poses the question, "Can, should, and must we negotiate with a regime we regard as evil?" Weighing the needs of all the stakeholders -- including China, Japan, Russia, and South Korea -- he concludes that the answer is yes. After assessing nine other policy options, he makes the case for engagement and negotiation with the regime. There still may be time to freeze or eliminate North Korea's weapons of mass destruction. Grounded in philosophy and history, this volume offers a fresh road map for negotiators and outlines a grand bargain that balances both ethical and practical security concerns.

 

Other reports can be accessed on CIAO.

 

If you are interesting in this topic and you need to find more resources, you can contact the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

The Frohring Library has now access to a small but growing collection of handbooks published by Routledge. 

All titles are DRM-free and available in HTML and PDF format.

During the summer break (August 7-21) the Frohing Library will follow these opening hours:

Reference services will be available from 9am to 4pm. Users can get in touch with referenceservices@jhncabot.edu for further questions.

Happy summer!

The British Library offers a collection of over a million copyright-free images, that you can use without restrictions. The collection of images is available of Flickr and can be browsed by theme such as such as book covers, illustrated lettering, comic art, or children's book illustration. 

If you are interesting in finding other images that you cna freely, and legally, use for your projects, take a look at out guide on finding images.

Do you want to try audiobooks? Why not starting from a classical novel of American Literature? Open Culture suggests to hear Moby Dick from a project developed by Plymouth University: Moby Dick - The Big Read features celebrities and lesser known figures reading all 135 chapters from Moby-Dick. 

All chapters can be listened to online, or they can be downloaded as free audio files) on iTunes, Soundcloud, RSS Feed, or the Big Read web site itself.

If you want to read the novel as you go along, or if you prefer the printed page, you can check out the book in our collection:

Moby-Dick by Herman Melville

Call Number: PS2384 .M6 2003b

ISBN: 9780142437247

Publication Date: 2002

And if the book is not on the shelf anymore, and you are a tech person, we also have the ebook that you can download to your e-reader!

Enjoy this great American novel!

Due to the renovation works in the Library, from Wednesday August 2 the reading rooms in the lower section of the library will not be available to the users. The room will be available again as soon as the works will be over.

The Library Staff apologizes for the inconvenience.