Livia Piotto
November is International Games Month, an initiative run by volunteers from around the world to reconnect communities through their libraries around the educational, recreational, and social value of all types of games.
The Frohring Library has inaugurated the month with a spooky Halloween event in collaboration with the Board Game Club.
The students had fun playing games in the library that, for once, was not a quiet place!
Livia Piotto
The Frohring Library is thrilled to announce a new addition to its collection: the Canadian Journal of Zombie Science is here, just in time for Halloween. 🎃
From zombie plants to possessed critters, dive into the eerie side of science! Check it out at https://shorturl.at/G3ZHl
From the publisher: “Read by academics, zombie enthusiasts, and survivors in the field, this spine-tingling journal is dedicated to the scientifically intriguing exploration of ‘zombie-like’ phenomena in the realms of plants, animals, and the environment across the world. After all, zombies have no borders.”
Beware...it's not a real journal! While this unique journal is just for fun, it showcases real scientific papers that were previously published in Canadian Science Publishing journals!
Livia Piotto
Newly acquired books, ebooks, and videos are constantly updated in the New Acquisitions list. In this way, our users can always be updated on what's new in the library!
Giovanna Contigiani
Join the Frohring Library in celebrating 2024 International Open Access Week in October!
Community over Commercialization
October 21-27, 2024
Open Access Week is an opportunity for the academic and research community to continue to learn about the potential benefits of Open Access, to share what they’ve learned with colleagues, and to help inspire wider participation in helping to make Open Access a new norm in scholarship and research.
Giovanna Contigiani
The Frohring Library is currently offering trial access to two new resources.
We encourage you to explore the resources, and we warmly welcome any feedback or suggestions you may have to further enhance our library's offerings.
Thank you for your engagement, and we look forward to your valuable input.
Sage Catalyst provides unlimited access to 550 textbooks. Subject areas include: Business and Management, Social Sciences, Humanities.
The trial will remain active until October 20, 2024.
LitBase is a world literature database with a modern search experience. A curated collection of critical primary texts and secondary sources, it supports research of the most studied authors, poetry, fiction, plays, and creative nonfiction worldwide.
The datbase includes over 425,000 primary sources, 100,000 secondary and reference sources, and hundreds of full-text scholarly journals and literary magazines to support literature research.
It delivers author interviews, biographies, creative nonfiction, literary criticism, poems, poetry reviews, scripts, and short stories from ancient times to the 21st century, including high culture works that didn’t originate in the West.
LitBase and MLA International Bibliography with Full Text come together to create a comprehensive research experience for all. The most recognized literature and language bibliography complements LitBase content with minimal overlap of scholarly journals.
The trial will remain active until November 15, 2024.
For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.
Livia Piotto
The Frohring Library is pleased to announce the official launch of its new institutional repository, John Cabot University ScholarShip – Digital Archive. Originally envisioned by former Head Librarian, Elisabetta Morani, this project has been in development for two years and provides an online space to archive, organize, preserve, and make accessible the digital scholarship produced by JCU faculty and students.
Key features of the repository include:
• Preservation of digital scholarship: The repository will permanently store and showcase the scholarly accomplishments of the JCU community, including student theses and faculty publications (articles, book chapters, books, and working papers from research institutions) submitted electronically.
• Open access promotion: The repository supports JCU’s commitment to open access by collecting and providing access to faculty open-access publications.
• Sustainability at JCU: The repository contains thematic communities (or grouped collections), including one on Sustainability given its importance, that will contain all related publications as well as students’ capstone projects.
• Searchable faculty directory: The “Authors” section will become a comprehensive and searchable faculty directory, featuring profiles for all faculty members.
As new scholarship is constantly being uploaded and future open-access works are directly submitted, JCU faculty are encouraged to contribute to the growing repository. If interested, please contact archive@johncabot.edu.
The John Cabot University ScholarShip – Digital Archive is a collaborative effort and was made especially possible by JCU’s Head Librarian, Livia Piotto; Electronic Resources Librarian, Giovanna Contigiani; and Collection Management Librarian, Civita Mosillo.
Civita Mosillo
Are you curious about what's new in the Library? Check out the New Acquisitions page! Find out new books, e-books, and videos that are now available in our collections.
Livia Piotto
At Frohring Library, we are constantly striving to improve the resources and services available to our students, and faculty. Today, we are thrilled to announce a significant update that will enhance your research experience: the A to Z list of databases and electronic resources has received a comprehensive makeover!
Our A to Z list has undergone a thorough transformation with the goal of making your research process more efficient and user-friendly. Here are some of the key enhancements:
1. Streamlined Interface
We've updated the layout so, Whether you're searching for a specific resources or for recommendations about useful databases, you’ll find the new interface intuitive and easy to use.
2. Enhanced Search Functionality
We’ve improved the search capabilities within the A to Z list. You can now search for databases not only by name but also by subject, content type, and even specific keywords. This means that even if you don’t remember the exact name of a database, you can still locate it with ease.
3. Updated Database Descriptions - Coming Soon
To assist you in selecting the most appropriate resources, we will refresh the descriptions for each database. These descriptions will provide more user-friendly information about the content and coverage of each database, including any unique features or tools available that can make your search experience more efficient.
4. Mobile-Friendly Design
We understand that research isn’t confined to a desktop computer. The new A to Z list is fully responsive, meaning you can access it from your smartphone, tablet, or any other mobile device with ease. The interface adjusts automatically to provide a seamless experience no matter where you are working.
A well-organized and accessible database list is crucial for effective research. With these enhancements, we aim to reduce the time you spend searching for resources, allowing you to focus more on your actual research and less on navigating the tools. Whether you’re working on a complex academic project or simply looking for a specific article, the new A to Z list is designed to make your search process as smooth as possible.
The updated A to Z list is available now on our library website. Simply visit https://www.johncabot.edu/library/default.aspx and navigate to the Databases and E-Journals from the left-side menu. From there, you can explore all the new features and start taking advantage of the improved functionality.
All the databases and electronic resources available in the A to Z list remain included in JCU Discovery for a broader and more comprehensive search experience.
Your input is invaluable to us. As you begin using the new A to Z list, we encourage you to share your thoughts and experiences. Let us know what you like, what could be improved, or if there are additional features you’d find helpful. You can reach out to us directly through referenceservies@johncabot.edu.
Civita Mosillo
Are you curious about what's new in the Library? Check out the New Acquisitions page! Find out new books, e-books, and videos that are now available in our collections.
As finals approach, our 12 Nights in the Library tradition returns to help our students succeed! 📚✨
🗓️ When: December 1–12
⏰ Hours: 8 AM–1:45 AM (10 AM opening on Dec. 8)
📍 Where: Frohring Library and Secchia Lab (Guarini Campus)
☕ Bonus: Free tea & coffee at 11 PM
Whether you're prepping for finals or finishing that big project, the library is here to help you with your references, finding sources, and offering some much-needed moral support.
See you there!