In support of libraries during the COVID-19 lockdown, Cambridge University Press has made available to us the following collections:
Cambridge Textbooks
Cambridge Companions
Cambridge Histories
Cambridge Elements
04/30/2020
Giovanna Contigiani
No Subjects
04/30/2020
Giovanna Contigiani
No Subjects
In support of the current pandemic De Gruyter has made available 75,000 eBooks published from 1650 to 2016.
De Gruyter collection offers book titles in the humanities, social sciences, medicine, mathematics, engineering, computer sciences, natural sciences, and law.
04/28/2020
Livia Piotto
No Subjects
To give students access to as much information as possible as they try to navigate what this pandemic means for their future, Bloomberg Media is offering college and grad students worldwide access to Bloomberg.com for three months, starting April 22 through July 31.
- Register with a university email address for verification.
- Check your email to verify your account
- Set your password
- Start reading free content on Bloomberg.com!
No credit card info is taken, so students won't be auto-charged on July 31.
It is for all university, not just ones with Terminals. And, yes, professors and staff can take advantage as well (need the .edu address)!
04/24/2020
Unknown Author
No Subjects
In support of libraries during the COVID-19 lockdow, Hein has made available to us the following set of databases:
- Law Journal Library
- Art Antiquity and Law
- Brill Nijhoff Journal & Yearbook Collection
- English Reports
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database
- Legal Classics
- Religion and the Law
- Revised Statutes of Canada
- United Nations Law Collection
- Women and the Law (Peggy)
- World Constitutions Illustrated
- World Treaty Library
- World Trials Library
04/23/2020
Livia Piotto
No Subjects
On April 23, 2020, celebrate with us World Book and Copyright Day by sharing your positive messages through #WorldBookDay.
Which is your favorite inspirational quote about the role books have in our lives?
04/22/2020
Livia Piotto
No Subjects
Image credit: Denise Balcacer (AS 332 Poster Design)
As the semester is nearing its end and the final exams are fast approaching, the library staff is getting ready to provide the usual extend support in a slightly different format.
The extended hours COVID-19 edition will start during Study Days (May 1st-May 3rd) with the Reference Librarians available for research assistance and citation support from 8am to 8pm.
During Finals (May 4th-May 8th) reference support will be guaranteed from 8am to 1am. Unfortunately we will not be able to provide the usual coffee and cookies and that makes us very sad! But we will be available for research help, citation assistance, a relaxing chat, or a virtual coffee together to keep us awake!
You will be able to get in touch with Eleonora, Manlio, and Livia on Microsoft Teams for a live chat, or you can email us at referenceservices@johncabot.edu for asynchronous help.
You can also schedule an appointment online, we will make sure to get back to you with details about how the virtual meeting will occur.
OTHER LIBRARY SERVICES
- Circulation is suspended. All outstanding loans have been extended to June 1st, 2020. If you need further clarifications, or cannot return the items you have checked out, please contact us at circulation@johncabot.edu.
- Moodle troubleshooting: contact moodlesupport@johncabot.edu for technical issues in accessing the platform. The e-mail is monitored daily until the end of the exams.
- Access to resources: we have substantially expanded our digital collections, most of which directly accessible from JCU Discovery. For additional details see our guide on temporary extended access to digital collections.
If you need print books and periodical articles, we can provide you with scans (see How to request scans). If you need to access items held by other libraries, you can request e document delivery services (see How to request an item from another library).
If you have troubles authenticating to use electronic resources, send a message to e-resourcemanager@johncabot.edu.
Some services are temporarily suspended and we can't see you all in person, but we are here to provide all the support you need with your final exams and projects!
04/20/2020
Livia Piotto
No Subjects
For all those students that need to access the Bloomberg Terminal for research, research help is now available via Bloomberg Anywhere. While the Terminal is still temporarily unavailable, due to the fact that the Frohring Library is closed to the public, Reference Librarian Livia Piotto will be able to access the terminal to provide the information needed upon request. If you are interested, you can contact her via email at lpiotto@johncabot.edu, or you can initiate a chat session on MS Teams.
We are providing as much help as possible during these difficult times, and we are sure that students will appreciate this additional service.
04/14/2020
Unknown Author
No Subjects
The Association of Computer Machinery is offering free access to their publications until June 30. Their comprehensive platform includes over 180,000 books, 1,400 journals, 26,000 chapters from conference proceedings, 74,000 theses, and 25,000 technical reports.
04/14/2020
Giovanna Contigiani
No Subjects
The Harvard University Press offers temporary free access to the Loeb Classical Library.
This digital version includes more than 500 Latin and Greek primary sources with parallel English translation.
University Press Scholarship Online have made some learning resources freely accessible.
