Library News

Everyone's favorite time of the year is almost here!

From November 30 to December 11 the Library will be open from 8 a.m. to 1:45 a.m. On December 8, the opening time will be at 10 a.m.
Librarians will be available for walk-ins and appointments. As usual, there will be free tea and coffee starting from 11 p.m. 

The Frohring Campus will also have extended hours from December 1 to December 12 from 8 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. with the following exceptions:

• Friday, December 5: Open 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
• Saturday, December 6 & Sunday, December 7: Open 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 a.m.
• Monday, December 8: Open 12:00 p.m. – 12:00 a.m. 
• Friday, December 12: Open 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

The Frohring Library is pleased to announce 2 new database trials from ProQuest! 

They will remain active until November 20, 2025. 

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window

Trial

ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.

ProQuest One Social Sciences This link opens in a new window

Trial

ProQuest One Social Science provides access to databases covering all areas of social sciences including international literature in politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, and library science.

 

We invite all students and faculty to test these resources and share feedback to help us decide on future subscriptions: https://johncabot.libwizard.com/f/trial-feedback.

For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

Join the Frohring Library in celebrating 2025 International Open Access Week in October!

The theme this year is “Who Owns Our Knowledge?” 
 

Open Access Week is an invaluable chance to connect the global momentum toward the open sharing of knowledge with the advancement of policy changes and the importance of social issues affecting people around the world. 

This fall, the Frohring Library is featuring new trials to three art-related databases. 

Whether you’re studying visual art, researching for a paper, or just exploring creative inspiration, these collections offer something for everyone.

• Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window

  Trial

  Developed and maintained by Yale University Press (YUP), the A&AePortal offers a curated selection of important art and architectural history titles, along with books in related disciplines (i.e., visual and material culture, classics, and religion). 

  The trial will remain active until November 16, 2025.

• Video Data Bank (VDB) This link opens in a new window

  Trial

  The VDB’s collection includes the work of more than 600 contemporary artists and 6,000 video art titles.

  The trial will remain active until October 28, 2025.

• Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI): Education This link opens in a new window

  Trial

  EAI's core program is a major collection of over 5,000 new and historical video works by artists, spanning from the mid-1960s to the present.

  The trial will remain active until December 1, 2025.

We invite all students, faculty, and staff to test these resources and share feedback to help us decide on future subscriptions: https://johncabot.libwizard.com/f/trial-feedback.

For questions and assistance, do not hesitate to get in touch with the Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu.

Explore thousands of newspapers and magazines worldwide with PressReader.
Help us shape our library resources! Try out these trials and share your feedback, we’d love to hear from you. 

Questions? Contact our Reference Librarians at referenceservices@johncabot.edu

The trial will remain active until November 15, 2025.

Join us for the Frohring Library’s first-ever Open House on Wednesday, September 17, from 5:00–8:00 pm!

• Explore the library: Discover all the resources and services available to the JCU community.

• Meet the librarians: Get to know the friendly faces behind the library.

• Trivia at 6:30 pm: Test your knowledge and have some fun!

• Eat & explore: Snacks and refreshments will be available throughout the event.

• Giveaways: Surprise!

• Collaborative playlist: Add your favorite tracks when you RSVP!

👉 RSVP here: Library Open House RSVP

Fall 2025 Orientation Week is less than one week away and the Frohring Library staff is getting ready to welcome all our new and returning students.

We’re delighted to welcome both new and returning students to campus this semester, as well as faculty members. Whether you’re finding your way for the first time or settling back into familiar routines, the library is here to support you.

Photo by Taylor Burnfield on Unsplash

The Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Services will be suspended from June 11 to June 24.

Requests submitted during this period will be processed starting June 25.

Happy summer!

Business Source Premier has now a new interface: Business Searching Interface (BSI).

It offers a clean, easier to browse UI to make any research faster and more intuitive.  Read the full overview from EBSCO's website.

Some of the new features include:

• Discover Popular Topics 
• Explore Featured Content 
• Company Profile Reports 
• Country Reports
• Industry Reports
• Featured Collections
• Browse Featured Business Magazines 
• Spotlight On

Feel free to ask to any of our Reference and Instruction Librarians any tip and suggestion how to optimize your research while using this new Interface.

If you are a Faculty Member, feel free to also book an in-class library session with our Instruction Librarians to explain in better details how to retrieve Reports, Literature and Analyses useful for upcoming assignments. 

As the new semester starts, the Frohring Library is happy to provide some updates about new content available on Kanopy.