The most frequently-used databases
This multi-disciplinary collection contains the full text of more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals and magazines. It also includes searchable archived content in PDF for hundreds of titles.
JSTOR offers entire collections of back issues of authoritative periodicals. Journal coverage begins with the first published issue and ends with a variable date, generally three to six years from present.
Along with the journal collection, JSTOR provides access to some e-book.
A comprehensive spectrum of over 11,000 full text sources, including: national and regional newspapers, international news, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. In addition, it includes business news journals, company financial information, industry and market news.
Political Science Database gives access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations peer-reviewed journals, providing full-text of many core titles. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
Project Muse is a prestigious collection of humanities and social sciences journals available in full text. Current issues are available as well as over a decade of backfile for selected journals.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
International Organization (IO) is a leading peer-reviewed journal that covers the entire field of international affairs. IO features articles that propose generalizable theories, improve social scientific knowledge, and/or offer new empirical insights on the broad range of subjects that constitute international relations and global politics.
National Theatre Collection: Volumes I & II bring the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Neural is an international magazine. Published three times a year since 1993, Neural features reportage and reviews of the latest trends in new media, art, literature, electronic music and hacktivism.
Politics and Religion is an international journal publishing peer-reviewed research on the multifaceted relationship between religion and politics around the world.
Spike is a magazine for cultural criticism and unconventional ideas, mixing writing on themes urgent and forever unresolved, from “Web3” and “After Beauty” to “Plants” and “Patriarchy.”
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a searchable database that collects texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453 and large number of post-Byzantine texts (16-20 c. A.D.).
The Online TLG contains more than 125 million words from over 12,000 works associated with 4,000 authors and is constantly updated and improved with new features and texts.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is available only to current JCU students, faculty and staff. Users must create a personal profile to log in and utilize the database.
