Humanistic Studies: Websites

The Arts and Humanities Data Service is a UK national service funded by the JISC and AHRC to collect, preserve and promote the electronic resources which result from research and teaching in the arts and humanities.

An impressive collection of events that took place on various days in history. Using drop-down menus you can select a day and month. The database focuses on the years, 1950-2005. You can also browse by years, by themes, and by witness accounts.

Page of digital projects by Zotero makers.

Through the Thomas Jefferson Foundation, this digital archive was developed to foster pattern analysis through data comparison among multiple sites.
The website brings together new and pre-existing archaeological data from field projects in the US (a majority from the Chesapeake region as well as South Carolina and Tennessee) and the Caribbean (Jamaica, Nevis, and St. Kitts).

The H-World discussion list serves as a network of communication among practitioners of world history. The list gives emphasis to research, to teaching, and to the connections between research and teaching.
It includes links to reviews, bibliographies, and teaching maerials.

The Hill Center for World Studies site focuses on world empires since 1500 and features "curricular suggestions, short articles, annotated bibliographies and web links dealing with our current topic of inquiry. The material is intended for all students of history" (site).

This resource, sponsored by Emory University and the National Endowment for the Humanities, is a visually rich and authoritative website that provides information on the slave trade that spans (and is organized by) five continents. In addition to the text-based resources of traditional bibliographies, Voyages also includes maps, images, lesson plans, and a database of African names.

"The World History Association is a community of scholars, teachers, and students who are passionately committed to the study of the history of the human community across regional, cultural and political boundaries." Under the Teaching/Research option it includes reviews, research links and graduate programs.

"World History Connected is designed for everyone who wants to deepen the engagement and understanding of world history: students, college instructors, high school teachers, leaders of teacher education programs, social studies coordinators, research historians, and librarians. For all these readers, WHC presents innovative classroom-ready scholarship, keeps readers up to date on the latest research and debates, presents the best in learning and teaching methods and practices, offers readers rich teaching resources, and reports on exemplary teaching. WHC is free worldwide. It is published by the University of Illinois Press, and its institutional home is Washington State University" (site)

World History Matters is a portal to world history websites developed by the Center for History and New Media.

Collection of resources related to classical studies in various fields: art and archaeology, history, religion, and literature.

On-line encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453).

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.

The web site provides copy-permitted primary sources and links to other Internet resources containing similar documents.

This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.
This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information that is remarkably relevant today.

The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars. It contains reference information, links to primary sources and other usefuls websites for Medieval studies.

Persée is a program which was created for the digital publication of scientific journals in the field of the humanities.

Numerous primary documents are available through this web page maintained by the Library of Congress. There are different collections, many of which relate to the American Civil War.

The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government and links to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.

A rich digital collection of primary source documents from the most prominent figures in early American history. A joint initiative of the National Archives' National Historical Publications and Records Commission and the University of Virginia Press, this database covers the 18th through the early 19th century, and currently features nearly 120,000 transcribed letters, legal notices, and other documents from the collections of John Adams, James Madison, George Washington, and Alexander Hamilton, with Benjamin Franklin's papers soon to come. Documents appear solely in plain tex

Selection of web sites and primary sources related to the history of Italy.

The web site provides copy-permitted primary sources and links to other Internet resources containing similar documents.

The NARA web site contains many original digitized documents that are important in the study of American history.

One of the largest collections of free online books, Project Gutenberg provides digital versions of classic works in world history and literature.

Guide developed by the American library Association. It includes information about finding and evaluating primary sources on the web.

Primary source materials on all aspects of the war.

The World History Sources site helps "world history teachers and students locate, analyze, and learn from online primary sources and to further their understanding of the complex nature of world history, especially the issues of cultural contact and globalization" (site). Faculty and students will find this useful for help in finding primary resources and learning how to analyze and to integrate resources into research, in addition to the teaching resources for instructors.

A rich database with quantitative data, essays and further resources on the Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trade.

Its archives contain 100,989 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

In celebration of the act's 50th anniversary, the Library of Congress created The Civil Rights Act of 1964: A Long Struggle for Freedom exhibition and website to explore "the events that shaped the civil rights movement, as well as the far-reaching impact the act had on a changing society."

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) aims to become a national portal to the digital holdings of archives, libraries, museums, and cultural institutions in the United States. The service launched in early 2013 with over 2.4 million records that link to digitized copies of books, manuscripts, photos, and videos. Users can browse featured exhibitions or search by place, date, or subject.

This collection represents the photographic files of one of America's earliest news picture agencies. It documents sports events, theater, celebrities, crime, strikes, disasters, political activities including the woman suffrage campaign.

The Minnesota Historical Society preserves Minnesota's past, shares our state's stories and connects people with history in meaningful ways, for today and for tomorrow. Because history matters!

The website contains a database of some twelve hundred documents, photographs, drawings, maps, and other materials drawn from the vast holdings of the National Archives and covering all periods of U.S. history to about 2004. Users can collect images and use them to create posters, slide shows, and educational games or find materials for further research.

Online sources for European history selected by specific country.